logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code

Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel - Community Reviews back

by Julia Pierpont
sort by language
Thewanderingjew
Thewanderingjew rated it 6 years ago
Among the ten thousand things, Julia Pierpont, author, Hillary Huber, narrator When the book began, I was stunned by the extent of filthy language and graphic sexual descriptions used. I almost stopped listening, but instead, I decided to look up some of the reviews to see if there was a warning abo...
Blah, Blah, Blah, Book Blog
Blah, Blah, Blah, Book Blog rated it 7 years ago
I picked this book from NetGalley because it was for fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore and Curtis Sittenfeld, and I am a fan of all of them. Despite how much I love them, though, they can occasionally tip the scales with a too-precious, self-consious style. This book has received...
Memories From Books on Booklikes
Memories From Books on Booklikes rated it 7 years ago
Among the Ten Thousand Things, the debut novel by Julia Pierpont, has a beautiful cover, an intriguing title, an emotional premise, and a strong beginning. Unfortunately, the rest of the book for me does not quite live up to the promise of the beginning. Be warned, that Part 2 is a spoiler – it tell...
Lagniappe Literature
Lagniappe Literature rated it 7 years ago
What did I think? NOT the book for me. It was rather depressing and it just seemed overly busy. Besides a family in torment, not much else going on. I need a bowl of laughs right about now to lighten the mood. Nah. This didn't work for me. One more tiny, incredibly annoying fact: I'm not exactly ...
Jasmyn's Reviews
Jasmyn's Reviews rated it 7 years ago
I had a really hard time with this one. Half way through it sort of lost me, and while I found the plot again fairly quickly, I just didn't understand why the middle section was there at all.The story follows a family as they deal with a husband/father that has not been faithful - and they find out ...
Steeped in Science, Submersed in Story
The time around the divorce in this family is defining for all four of its members, and each of them is changed. The first part of the novel is about the children finding out about their father's affair, and strange events and conversations that surround each of them as the wife wonders what to do ...
debbiekrenzer
debbiekrenzer rated it 7 years ago
I really got into the first part of this book. Kids finding letters that their father had written to his mistress and vice versa. Then the story got as boring as the lives of the people in the story. Everyone was lost and didn't know what to do after the box came. I can accept that would happen in r...
bookwookiee
bookwookiee rated it 7 years ago
I've been reading a fair amount of fantasy lately and it was refreshing to dip back into the literary fiction pool with Among the Ten Thousand Things. As is typical of literary fiction, not much happens in this novel. If you're looking for something action packed, a nail-biter with lots of twists an...
Need help?