logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Before I Met You - Lisa Jewell
Before I Met You
by: (author)
5.00 5
Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Twenties Girl, and The Chaperone.Fresh out of university, Betty... show more
Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Twenties Girl, and The Chaperone.Fresh out of university, Betty is ready to begin a new chapter of her life in London—one she hopes brings new friends, a big career break, and perhaps even true love. Following her dreams in bustling, grungy nineties Soho, she’s ready for whatever life has to throw at her. Or so she thinks… In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette—Betty’s grandmother—is starting her new life in a time of post-war change. Beautiful and charismatic, Arlette is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to the country for the rest of her life. As Betty tries to manage the ups and downs of adulthood, she’s distracted by a mysterious letter she finds after Arlette’s death—a letter written to a man Betty has never heard of but who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlette’s past help Betty navigate her own path to happiness? A heartwarming detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable story about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but linked by a shared determination to make their dreams come true.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9781476702940 (1476702942)
Publisher: Atria Books
Pages no: 448
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Lavender
Lavender rated it
4.0 I Found You - Lisa Jewell
This is my second book written by Lisa Jewell. I liked “The Girls in the Garden” very much and I was very keen to read another book from her. I like her writing style. Her books are easy to read and well-constructed.“I Found You” is a character driven book. The story is broken up into three differen...
"A Single Word ... "
"A Single Word ... " rated it
4.0 Before I Met You
As I type this up I realized that this is an “either/or” book. Where I liked the book over all, some others did not. I got to see London in 2 different eras through the eyes of Arlette and Clara. I liked the way it was presented as we learned a bit of the family mystery & history in the story line...
"A Single Word ... "
"A Single Word ... " rated it
4.0 Before I Met You
As I type this up I realized that this is an “either/or” book. Where I liked the book over all, some others did not. I got to see London in 2 different eras through the eyes of Arlette and Clara. I liked the way it was presented as we learned a bit of the family mystery & history in the story line...
Watch - Eat - Read
Watch - Eat - Read rated it
3.0 Before I Met You
Good but not the best by this author. I would say the stories don't meld together as well as I would have hoped between the two time periods. The story is quite slow in parts and although the writing is very evocative of a young girl going to the big city it is not an engaging as I would have hoped
She reads, she watches and sometimes she goes outside
She reads, she watches and sometimes she goes outside rated it
3.0 Before I Met You
Good but not the best by this author. I would say the stories don't meld together as well as I would have hoped between the two time periods. The story is quite slow in parts and although the writing is very evocative of a young girl going to the big city it is not an engaging as I would have hoped
Other editions (6)
Books by Lisa Jewell
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?