logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Cloud Atlas - David Mitchell
Cloud Atlas
by: (author)
4.00 15
Newly added to the Modern Library, this edition makes Cloud Atlas available in hardcover for the very first time. A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for... show more
Newly added to the Modern Library, this edition makes Cloud Atlas available in hardcover for the very first time. A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.
show less
Format: hardcover
ASIN: B00AASJUW6
Publisher: Modern Library
Pages no: 528
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Everyday Blessings
Everyday Blessings rated it
5.0 Cloud Atlas
It's kind of immensely hard to write an honest review when you have no idea what you have just read and what most of the book was really about, but it's nonetheless a noble thing to do, because there's no doubt in my mind that the author of this book has really brought a literature jewel to life wit...
My Journey to Become Pretentiously Literate
My Journey to Become Pretentiously Literate rated it
4.0 Cloud Atlas
My actual score is closer to a 3.5. Sorry for the lazy review, school is intense and I don't really know how to organize my feelings on this one.Cloud Atlas is one of those books that you either love or hate, which is why it's unusual that I feel mostly neutral about it. It was an entertaining, clev...
A Reading Vocation
A Reading Vocation rated it
4.0 Book 78/100: Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
This is a good "fat book" for people who are intimidated by "fat books" -- because it is divided up into six different stories, it doesn't feel long. I think the book is best enjoyed by just letting yourself sink fully into whatever story you are currently in, rather than stressing out about how the...
Bite Me: Literary Edition
Bite Me: Literary Edition rated it
5.0 Cloud Atlas is Astonishing
To say that David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas is a good book is a gross understatement. Cloud Atlas is nothing short of a masterpiece; a mesmerizing postmodern novel about the journey and self-education of a single soul. Borrowing from the teachings of such philosophies and beliefs as eternal recurrence ...
Book Haunt
Book Haunt rated it
2.0 Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
I do have to admit that I am not really an avid short story fan and this book is basically an assortment of short stories. Each story is in a different time and place but threads from the other stories are woven into each other. There is a common theme of oppression throughout the book. Even thou...
Other editions (42)
Books by David Mitchell
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?