logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Girl at War: A Novel - Sara Nović
Girl at War: A Novel
by: (author)
3.53 80
Part war saga, part coming of age tale, part story of love and friendship, Girl at War is a powerful debut novel by a young writer who will appeal to readers of Anthony Marra, Téa Obreht, and Anthony Doerr.“An unforgettable portrait of how war forever changes the life of the individual, Girl at... show more
Part war saga, part coming of age tale, part story of love and friendship, Girl at War is a powerful debut novel by a young writer who will appeal to readers of Anthony Marra, Téa Obreht, and Anthony Doerr.“An unforgettable portrait of how war forever changes the life of the individual, Girl at War is a remarkable debut by a writer working with deep reserves of talent, hea
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780812996340 (0812996348)
ASIN: 812996348
Pages no: 336
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Feminism in Cold Storage
Feminism in Cold Storage rated it
4.0 Girl at War
This is an enlightening story about what it can be like to grow up in a civil war and then to escape to another country that was mostly dissociated with it. Or be forced out, depending on how you look at that part of it but I don't want to spoil anything either.While parts of the story can be a bit ...
Maven Books
Maven Books rated it
1.0 Girl at War by Sara Nović
Not particularly well-written, and it seemed like it was meant for a younger audience. Lots of telling, not showing, and it didn't feel very convincing or that there were any real emotions connected to what went on. Too much jumping around, rather than building the story. Disappointing.
Blondie and Read
Blondie and Read rated it
3.0 Girl at War: A Novel
3.5 starsGood book. Compelling story. Still lacking something for me though... not exactly sure what though. Heartless? I must be heartless...
Nothing better than a good book...
Nothing better than a good book... rated it
4.0 Girl At War
Author: Sara Novic Rating: 4 stars Quick Review: An engrossing, heartbreaking piece of historical fiction about the Yugoslavian civil war. Book Blurb: Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital. But that year, civil war...
Jenny's Book Bag
Jenny's Book Bag rated it
5.0 Girl at War by Sara Novic
“Luka, I killed a man. Maybe more than one—who knows what happened when I was just shooting out the window. I could have hit someone else.""You were defending yourself.""I’m no better than any of them.""You were a little kid. You didn’t even know what you were doing.""No, that’s the thing. When I wa...
Books by Sara Nović
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?