logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
I'll Give You the Sun - Jandy Nelson
I'll Give You the Sun
by: (author)
4.58 230
A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while... show more
A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.   This radiant, fully alive novel from the critically acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.  "A wild, beautiful, and profoundly moving novel. Jandy Nelson’s writing is so electric, so alive, her pages practically glow in the dark." --Ransom Riggs, New York Times bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City    "Jandy Nelson is a rare, explosive talent, and one of the best writers working today. Her prose is vivid, breathtaking, and drenched in passion, and her stories remind me why words can change the world." --Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series.    "I love this book. Jandy Nelson is my new writing hero. Read this book.  She'll be your favorite author as well." --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s  Jandy Nelson’s writing is poetic and mesmerizing. More importantly, Nelson weaves a novel that seeps into your bones like fire on a cold day . . . I’ll Give You the Sun is a novel that promises a story like nothing else and then delivers it.” --Garret Freymann-Weyr, author of Printz Honor book, My Heartbeat   "An extraordinary book! I've never read anything like it. Lyrical-unique-passionate-magical-tragic-hopeful--Nelson's characters will fly off the page and into your heart." --Nancy Garden, author of Annie on my Mind.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780803734968 (0803734964)
ASIN: 0803734964
Publisher: Dial
Pages no: 416
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents rated it
4.0 I'll Give You the Sun
4.5 starsThis is just a story about the good and bad things in life, but it’s told so explosively. The writing is amazing in my opinion. I felt, saw and lived every scene. I was teary. I was smiling. This book removed me from my world completely while I read it and left its feelings behind afte...
Defying Gravity with Books
Defying Gravity with Books rated it
4.0 I'll Give You the Sun
I enjoyed the writing style of the book. I also enjoyed the alternating point of views. What was unique about switching between Noah and Jude was that there was a three year difference. Noah and Jude are twins so we got Noah's point of view when they were 13 and Jude's when they were 16. I also like...
KatieMc
KatieMc rated it
4.0 I'll Give You the Sun
A solid 3.5 rounded up... I loved the writing and I love a good all encompassing family story and IGYTS delivers. I liked the time hopping dual POVs between Jude and Noah. I did have a few niggles Noah's AWOL CSA application shouldn't have gone unnoticed. No confirmation letter? No rejection let...
Blondie and Read
Blondie and Read rated it
4.0 I'll Give You the Sun
Great, great, great. Review to come when I'm no longer drowning in books.
The Book Cookies
The Book Cookies rated it
5.0
"Remake the world."ThoughtsThis book was an amazing read. Although at first I was annoyed by the artistic metaphors (more on that later), I got used to it and learned to love the writing style; there were hilarious parts that I will never forget because I laughed so hard and parts where I felt a tig...
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?