logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Jeanne MacKin
Jeanne Mackin is the author of several historical novels. Her most recent is The Beautiful American. She has worked as a journalist for several publications, and as a university research and science writer. She lives in the Finger Lakes region of New York State, with her husband, artist Steve... show more
Jeanne Mackin is the author of several historical novels. Her most recent is The Beautiful American. She has worked as a journalist for several publications, and as a university research and science writer. She lives in the Finger Lakes region of New York State, with her husband, artist Steve Poleskie. Jeanne was the recipient of a creative writing fellowship from the American Antiquarian Society and her journalism has won awards from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education.For more information, visit:www.JeanneMackin.comPraise for The Beautiful American"Achingly beautiful and utterly mesmerizing..." -- Jennifer Robson, author of Somewhere in France"Jeanne Mackin's luminous novel about Man Ray and his model-mistress Lee Miller evokes the iridescence of 1920s Paris when youth and artistic freedom and sexual excess were all that mattered. The Beautiful American, which readers will rank right up there with The Paris Wife, takes readers from the giddiness of the flapper era to the grittiness of World War II. It is a brilliant, beautifully written literary masterpiece. I love this book!--Sandra Dallas, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen Women"The Beautiful American will transport you to expat Paris and from there take you on a journey through the complexities of a friendship as it is inflected through the various lenses of nostalgia, pity, celebrity, jealousy, and -- ultimately -- love. Jeanne Mackin breathes new life into such luminaries as Man Ray, Picasso, and, of course, the titular character, Lee Miller, while at the same time offering up a wonderfully human and sympathetic protagonist in Nora Tours."--Suzanne Rindell, author of The Other Typist"Jeanne Mackin's portrait of Europe in the years encompassing the Second World War is achingly beautiful and utterly mesmerizing, and her vividly drawn characters, the legendary Lee Miller among them, come heartbreakingly alive in their obsessions, tragedies, and triumphs. The Beautiful American is sure to appeal to fans of Paula McLain's The Paris Wife and Erika Robuck's Call Me Zelda, or indeed to anyone with a taste for impeccably researched and beautifully written historical fiction." --Jennifer Robson, author of Somewhere in France"From Poughkeepsie to Paris, from the razzmatazz of the '20s to the turmoil of World War Two and the perfume factories of Grasse, Mackin draws you into the world of expatriate artists and photographers and tells a story of love, betrayal, survival and friendship. As complex as the fragrances Mackin writes about, The Beautiful American is an engaging and unforgettable novel. I couldn't put it down." -Renee Rosen, author of Doll Face"An exquisitely imagined and beautifully rendered story of the talented, tragic, gorgeous Lee Miller." Becky E. Conekin, author of Lee Miller in Fashion"Jeanne Mackin blends a tale as intoxicating as the finest fragrance. Spanning wars both personal and global, The Beautiful American leaves its essence of love, loss, regret, and hope long after the novel concludes."--Erika Robuck, author of Call Me Zelda and Fallen Beauty
show less
Jeanne MacKin's Books
Recently added on shelves
Jeanne MacKin's readers
Share this Author
Community Reviews
bookishwanderlove
bookishwanderlove rated it 4 years ago
3.5 starsFull review to comeInteresting read, I just felt like something was missing...
msleighm books
msleighm books rated it 5 years ago
I received the book for free through Goodreads First Reads.3.5/5 stars, rounded upI read this book in one day. It was like a good meal that should be filling but leaves you hungry. The story and the characters have a great skeleton; there is no meat on the bone. Overnight I pondered how it could hav...
see community reviews
Need help?