logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Life Among the Savages - Shirley Jackson
Life Among the Savages
by: (author)
4.05 145
Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family's life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don't Eat the Daisies,... show more
Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family's life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don't Eat the Daisies, Cheaper by the Dozen, and anything Erma Bombeck ever wrote will find much to recognize in Shirley Jackson's home and neighborhood: children who won't behave, cars that won't start, furnaces that break down, a pugnacious corner bully, household help that never stays, and a patient, capable husband who remains lovingly oblivious to the many thousands of things mothers and wives accomplish every single day. "Our house," writes Jackson, "is old, noisy, and full. When we moved into it we had two children and about five thousand books; I expect that when we finally overflow and move out again we will have perhaps twenty children and easily half a million books." Jackson's literary talents are in evidence everywhere, as is her trenchant, unsentimental wit. Yet there is no mistaking the happiness and love in these pages, which are crowded with the raucous voices of an extraordinary family living a wonderfully ordinary life. Continuously in print since 1948, Jackson's Haunting of Hill House has been bought by Dreamworks.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780140267679 (0140267670)
Publisher: Penguin
Pages no: 256
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Char's Horror Corner
Char's Horror Corner rated it
5.0 Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson, narrated by Lesa Lockford
This is an hilarious autobiographical account of Shirley Jackson and her husband, raising 2, (then 3, then 4) children in a small Vermont town. I listened to the audio version, narrated by Lesa Lockford, and I thought she was excellent. This has to be the funniest audiobook I've ever heard. It con...
FefferBooks
FefferBooks rated it
3.0 Life Among the Savages
Um.... I guess I've decided I'm not really a short story person. "Savages" has a bit of a narrative thread running through, which saves it from boring me to death like most short story collections, but I guess I really want my reading to have an arc from beginning to end, and not just little ones th...
A Man With An Agenda
A Man With An Agenda rated it
4.0 Life Among the Savages
Oh this was definitely written by the woman who wrote The Haunting of Hill House. The tone is light, suitable for its content's original publication in the pages of women's and home magazines, but the shrewd observation and occasional chilling naïve comment from one of her children (or I should say ...
Always Another Book in the TBR
Always Another Book in the TBR rated it
5.0
A lovely way to spend an afternoon. Ms. Jackson portrayed her family in a loving, humorous way. While I know how it all ended up in real life, it was still a fun read, a loving tribute from a mom to her loud and loving family. Evocative of "Please Don't Eat the Daisies" and other such movies/book...
Reflections
Reflections rated it
4.0 Life among the Savages
The author of the scary short story The Lottery wrote this funny, funny book about raising children in the 1950s
Other editions (6)
Books by Shirley Jackson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?