logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Night Film: A Novel - Marisha Pessl
Night Film: A Novel
by: (author)
3.88 40
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPageA page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious... show more
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPageA page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.   On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.   For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.   Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.   The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.   Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.Praise for Night Film   “Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl’s deft touch with character.”—Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review   “Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination.”—Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review   “Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You’ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.”—The Washington Post  “Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner.”—USA Today   “Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new.”—The Boston Globe   “Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense.”—Entertainment Weekly   “A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that’s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there’s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.”—New York   “Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl’s own Night Film as well.”—Vanity FairFrom the Hardcover edition.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780812979787 (0812979788)
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Pages no: 624
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Shiftyj1
Shiftyj1 rated it
4.0 Night Film
This was one long mofo of an audio book. I will give it extra brownie points for holding my attention enough to listen to all 23 hours of it. That’s not a misprint. Twenty-Three Hours! Damn, that is a long ass listen. Worth it too. A very well done thriller/mystery/suspense tale that immediately gra...
Bark's Book Nonsense
Bark's Book Nonsense rated it
2.0 Night Film by Marisha Pessl
Some books grab me. Some books don’t. This one didn’t. I realized this after I had to rewind five+ HOURS of audio because I was completely lost after sleep-listening my way through all of the incredibly boring descriptive details and goings-on and tidbits and interviews of whatnot and whoever. ...
Lillelara
Lillelara rated it
1.5 Night Film
Never trust the hype! I was really looking forward to be reading this novel and I was expecting a good mystery thriller with a lot of suspence. Instead I read a too long-drawn-out pretentious mess of a book. The plot is disappointing and not suspenceful at all. I´ve got the impression that Marisha...
Dantastic Book Reviews
Dantastic Book Reviews rated it
5.0 Night Film
When the daughter of a legendary reclusive film director commits suicide, disgraced investigative reporter Scott McGrath sees his chance for redemption, for he crossed paths with the director, Stanislas Cordova, years before, costing him his family and his career. What will McGrath find when he begi...
Rabbit Reads
Rabbit Reads rated it
5.0 Night Film
Pre-Reading (5/5/15): My stepdad got me this book for my birthday last month. He told me when he was reading it, he thought I would love it. This is a reminder, to myself, to tell him that I started it today. Read Pre-Review (8/31/15): Review to come once my thoughts stop going WTF did I just read?...
Other editions (25)
Books by Marisha Pessl
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?