logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Oryx and Crake - Margaret Atwood
Oryx and Crake
by: (author)
4.04 120
A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker PrizeMargaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world... show more
A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker PrizeMargaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief. With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780385503853 (0385503857)
Publisher: Nan A. Talese
Pages no: 376
Edition language: English
Series: MaddAddam Trilogy (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Cynically Speaking
Cynically Speaking rated it
3.5
This is the first Margaret Atwood novel I've read. The MaddAddam series keeps raising its head on many sites I frequent because I read a lot of dystopian fiction. I blame William Gibson's "Neuromancer" for my inclination to this genre (and cyber/techno punk). I will save for another day a my thoug...
Lindsay's Book Log
Lindsay's Book Log rated it
5.0 Oryx and Crake
This book is kinda really depressing but really amazing. Atwood describes this book as speculative fiction and I totally agree (and thus it's really depressing). Okay how do I explain the plot of this book without giving to much away. Snowman leads and teaches the innocent Crakers following a ca...
Read All The Things! Reviews
Read All The Things! Reviews rated it
5.0 Oryx and Crake
This is one of my favorite novels ever, and it’s the first book in one of my favorite trilogies ever. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve read it since it came out. I’ve been in a reading slump recently, so I picked it up again because I knew that I would enjoy it. I still love it as much as I di...
Sarah's Library
Sarah's Library rated it
3.5 Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam Trilogy, #1) by Margaret Atwood
26/12 - I found this a little bit tiresome to read for at least half the book. It wasn't until we started to see what had happened to bring about the apocalypse that I really got interested. And then Atwood finishes it just as a really exciting and mystery-revealing scene was about to happen, a bit ...
La Mala *the mean girl*
La Mala *the mean girl* rated it
4.0 Oryx and Crake (Audio)
Reseña: Enero, 20153.5(Esta representación bellísima de Oryx salió de esta página y tiene más dibujos espectaculares basados en el libro. Mirenlas!)Después de terminar la trilogía, me doy cuenta de que el primero es el único flojo de los tres.Oryx es un personaje sin demasiada sustancia, pero quizá...
Other editions (41)
Books by Margaret Atwood
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?