logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Perfected - Kate Jarvik Birch
Perfected
by: (author)
3.72 45
Ever since the government passed legislation allowing people to be genetically engineered and raised as pets, the rich and powerful can own beautiful girls like sixteen-year-old Ella as companions. But when Ella moves in with her new masters and discovers the glamorous life she's been promised... show more
Ever since the government passed legislation allowing people to be genetically engineered and raised as pets, the rich and powerful can own beautiful girls like sixteen-year-old Ella as companions. But when Ella moves in with her new masters and discovers the glamorous life she's been promised isn't at all what it seems, she's forced to choose between a pampered existence full of gorgeous gowns and veiled threats, or seizing her chance at freedom with the boy she's come to love, risking both of their lives in a daring escape no one will ever forget.  For fans of Lauren Oliver's Delirium and Lauren DeStefano's Chemical Garden series, Kate Birch's debut novel melds the feel of The Handmaid's Tale with the historic underground railroad and wraps it in a glamorous--and dangerous--bow.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781622662685 (1622662687)
ASIN: 1622662687
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Pages no: 400
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
It's Legal Here...
It's Legal Here... rated it
3.5 Intrinsically Enjoyable. Critically Flawed.
There is something about books that just makes you enjoy them in the back of the subconscious, despite the excessive criticism your conscious mind has to offer. I haven't exactly named an effect for this, but I certainly know it is there. For example (and this is a rather overused one), The Hunge...
the dilemma of reading
the dilemma of reading rated it
2.0 The Perfected/Kate Jarvik Birch
As soon as the government passed legislation allowing humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets, the rich and powerful rushed to own beautiful girls like Ella. Trained from birth to be graceful, demure, and perfect, these "family companions" enter their masters' homes prepared to live a l...
Leah's Bookish Obsession
Leah's Bookish Obsession rated it
3.5 "Maybe freedom wasn't a state of being. Maybe it was an act of courage. Maybe freedom was defiance and sacrifice and pain, something that couldn't be won without giving away something else in return.”
Book Title: Perfected Author: Kate Jarvik Birch Narration: Tavia Gilbert Series: Perfected #1 Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance Source: Audio book (Library) ✧✧Why I picked that quote: While this book creeped me out, there were moments inside Ella's head that made me feel inspired....
YA Anonymous
YA Anonymous rated it
The idea behind this book is appalling, yet the story was intrigung. The American government passes a law that allows the uber wealthy to OWN genetically engineered girls as PETS. Sick, right? Perfected follows the, pretty predictable, story of pet Ella. Ella goes to live with a congressman and his...
brebeaumont
brebeaumont rated it
5.0 Perfected
this book and I have an odd sort of relationship with one another. I actually didn't mind the literal objectification of women - the way it was handled was good to me, nice and direct with how it was wrong to treat human beings as if you could own them simply because of your privilege. however, I di...
Other editions (3)
Books by Kate Jarvik Birch
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?