logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
See What I Have Done - Sarah Schmidt
See What I Have Done
by: (author)
1.00 10
Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER. When her father and step-mother are found brutally murdered on a summer... show more
Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.

When her father and step-mother are found brutally murdered on a summer morning in 1892, Lizzie Borden - thirty two years old and still living at home - immediately becomes a suspect. But after a notorious trial, she is found innocent, and no one is ever convicted of the crime.

Meanwhile, others in the claustrophobic Borden household have their own motives and their own stories to tell: Lizzie's unmarried older sister, a put-upon Irish housemaid, and a boy hired by Lizzie's uncle to take care of a problem.

This unforgettable debut makes you question the truth behind one of the great unsolved mysteries, as well as exploring power, violence and the harsh realities of being a woman in late nineteenth century America.
show less
Format: kindle
ASIN: B01N7JZ0SJ
Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages no: 324
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Char's Horror Corner
Char's Horror Corner rated it
3.5 SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt
3.5 stars! SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE is a beautifully written re-telling of the Lizzie Borden story. I've always been fascinated by Lizzie Borden. Having lived all my life in Massachusetts, it's a story everyone is familiar with, even children, because of that horrible rhyme: Lizzie Borden took an axe...
Bark's Book Reviews
Bark's Book Reviews rated it
4.0 See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt
This is a fictionalized retelling of the Lizzie Borden murders and though it gets many “meh”reviews, I surprisingly enjoyed it very much. These people are awful! They are selfish, resentful, devious and maddening in their “woe is me” entitled thoughts but I LOVED reading about their misery. And, boy...
Scarlet's Web
Scarlet's Web rated it
1.0 Another DNF - See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt
One for the DNF pile. I can't get into it at all, every time I pick it up I find myself becoming bored and I have to try and force myself to keep reading in the hope that it will improve. I just don't care for the characters. There's nothing likeable about them in the slightest and I honestly coul...
Lillelara
Lillelara rated it
1.0 See What I Have Done
Since this a fictional account of the Lizzie Borden murders, I was prepared for violence and gore. But I wasn´t prepared for it being such a disgusting read. And it´s not the descriptions of all the blood and the crushed skulls that makes this novel disgusting, it´s the characters themselves that gr...
All about me
All about me rated it
4.0 See What I Have Done
I really enjoyed this book. I found it claustrophobic, complicated and compelling. I'm torn between thinking Lizzie is mad and bad on one hand and mad and misunderstood on the other. She is certainly in the driving seat in this story and you read it watching the events unfold in her mind. The house ...
Other editions (5)
Books by Sarah Schmidt
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?