logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Sorta Like A Rockstar - Matthew Quick
Sorta Like A Rockstar
by: (author)
Published in the UK for the first time, this is the powerful and moving debut from the author of the Oscar-winning THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK. For fans of Jay Asher and THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER.Amber Appleton has a lot to be thankful for.OR Amber Appleton has never had it easy.Both are... show more
Published in the UK for the first time, this is the powerful and moving debut from the author of the Oscar-winning THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK. For fans of Jay Asher and THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER.Amber Appleton has a lot to be thankful for.OR Amber Appleton has never had it easy.Both are true. On the one hand, she's got the best friends a seventeen year old could ask for and a loyal dog, Bobby Big Boy. On the other, her mum frequently has too much to drink, Amber's never quite sure where her next meal will come from and ever since her mum's latest boyfriend kicked them out, Amber and her mum have been living in the back of a school bus.Amber has always found it easy to be upbeat, to find the light in the darkest of situations. Until, that is, an unimaginable tragedy occurs. Forced to rethink her way of life, can Amber remain a rock star of hope?This is the story of a very special teenager, whose faith and hope is tested to the limit.
show less
Format: kindle
ASIN: B00GHUHK5A
Publisher: Headline
Pages no: 352
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
 Leah's Bookish Obsession
Leah's Bookish Obsession rated it
3.5 3.7 Out Of 5 "tragically hip" Stars
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~๏~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~ABOUT THE BOOK~ Sorta Like A Rock Star Matthew Quick ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~๏~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Amber Appleton lives in a bus. Ever since her mom's boyfriend kicked them out, Amber, her mom, and her totally loyal dog, Bobby Big Boy (aka Thrice B) have been camped out in t...
The Person From Porlock
The Person From Porlock rated it
5.0 Sorta Like a Rock Star
I've been putting this off for a long time, and perhaps for a good reason (since May 22nd, apparently). This is one of the two books that have ever made me cry; the other is [b:The Murder Of Bindy Mackenzie|82781|The Murder Of Bindy Mackenzie (Ashbury/Brookfield, #3)|Jaclyn Moriarty|https://d.gr-ass...
52 Book Minimum
52 Book Minimum rated it
5.0
Amber, her mother and her pup Bobby Big Boy have been living in Hello Yello (a school bus Amber’s mother drives part-time) for months after being kicked out of the latest in a series of her mom’s boyfriend’s apartments. Amber is an eternal optimist – splitting her time between her school friends (t...
The In-Between Place
The In-Between Place rated it
4.0 Sorta Like a Rock Star
Amber Appleton is definitely a rock star, no “sorta” about it. True? True. She’s incorrigibly optimistic and hopeful, despite the less than ideal circumstances that life has thrown at her. She cheers up the elderly, rescues stray dogs, helps Korean ladies learn English (and how to embrace their inne...
Milka Really Likes To Read
Milka Really Likes To Read rated it
0.0 Review: Sorta Like a Rock Star
Amber Appleton does not have a place call home. Except if you count the school bus her mother drives a home. Amber's mom, who has tendency not to eat and spend most of her money on vodka, promises Amber that they will be out of the bus soon - but she started giving promises already months ago when t...
Other editions (13)
Books by Matthew Quick
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?