logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Always-Coming-Home
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-06-27 14:05
Review: Kiss My Boots (Coming Home #2) by Harper Sloan
Kiss my Boots - Harper Sloan

 

 

 

 

In this second of the sultry, Western-set Coming Home series from New York Times bestselling author Harper Sloan, Quinn Davis might finally have a shot at her own happily-ever-after—but will she let love in, or will she tell it to go ahead and kiss her boots?

Quinn Davis prefers to live her life quietly. She’s the stereotypical tomboy with two overprotective big brothers who have always been there to protect her, especially from devilishly handsome cowboys with silver tongues. That is, until Tate Montgomery comes riding into town. Their first meeting, however, is far from something out of a fairy tale and only further convinces Quinn that men aren’t worth her time.

The only place Tate Montgomery ever truly felt at home growing up was during the long, sweltering summer months he spent at his Gram and Paw’s farm in Pine Oak, Texas. Now, Tate has returned to his childhood sanctuary seeking a fresh start—but if he’s being entirely honest, he’s not just back for the wranglers and Stetsons. During those summers, Quinn was a friend-turned-young-love who Tate lost when life threw him a curveball and he cut all ties to his past; but all it takes is one glance at the raven-haired beauty he did his best to forget for him to realize just how much he’s been missing….

 

 

 

 

This is the second book in the Coming Home series but it can be easily read as a standalone. But it helps to have read the first book to know all the people we meet along the way.

I liked Quinn in book one and was really looking forward to read her book.  And it did not disappoint. I like Quinn now even. She is not your typical, while she is still very girlie she also is very much a tomboy. She is a bada$$ and still super soft and lovely, Also very funny and knows what she wants.

Tate, I thought it would take me a while to like him but NO. I liked him right away. I lobed that we get his story fairly early and that he just straight out tells everyone what was happening and what he wants for his future.  

I liked them separate and I liked them together ever more. I liked that they started out slow again.  It was everything I love, funny, sweet and yet sexy smexy hot with a hint of obstacle to overcome.

I also enjoyed that we still get to see the last couple Leigh and Mav and how they are doing without taking over this book. Of course we get some of Jana’s humor in this book as well and it was great. The tiny insight into Mark and Janie was also great.

I cannot wait to read the last and final book and see Clay getting his HEA.

Oh and the songs, Harper Sloan adds in the beginning to each chapter make a great playlist matching the chapters and the book.

I highly enjoyed this book and rate it a full 5 ★

 

*I received a free copy from the publisher and chose to leave a voluntary review. Thank you!*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Will be available July 18th  2017

 

  

harper1

Harper is a NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL and USA TODAY bestselling author residing in Georgia with her husband and three daughters. She has a borderline unhealthy obsession with books, hibachi, tattoos and Game of Thrones. When she isn't writing you can almost always find her with a book in hand.

Links

Facebook *** Website *** Twitter *** Instagram *** Pinterest *** Goodreads *** Amazon Author Page

Snoopydoo sigi

Source: snoopydoosbookreviews.com/review-kiss-boots-coming-home-2-harper-sloan
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-05-26 22:39
Coming Home ~ A Tiny House Collection - Ane Mulligan,Linda W. Yezak,Pamela S. Meyers,Yvonne Anderson,Kimberli S. McKay,Michael Ehret,Chandra Lynn Smith

Coming Home ~ A Tiny House Collection by Ane Mulligan, Linda W. Yezak, Pamela S. Meyers, Yvonne Anderson, Kimberli S. McKay, Michael Ehret, Chandra Lynn Smith
Wanted to read this book because the stories are based around tiny houses which I've read a lot about. Still not sure how I'd get my yarn and quilting supplies in there. The local tiny house community also comes with a POD I guess so you can swap out your seasonal clothes and decorations.
Interesting learning how they do survive living where they do. Have seen stairs used as storage in a regular house and love them!
Some stories enforce the path God has led them down.
What I like about this collection is learning about new careers and how they are done. All about tiny houses and those living in them from all walks of life.
Especially like the different locations, especially the ice road-we need one but the bay doesn't freeze often. Being blind I loved the one where the female trains the dogs and uses German phrases to command them. I've seen/heard the commands from friends.
Some include excerpts from the next in the series...most are romance but some are scary and mysterious themes. Each one kept my interest because they were so varied from one another.
Received a copy from the author via BookFun.org and this is my honest review.
 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-04-09 19:30
Pies and Hot Cowboys Yeehaw
Lost Rider (The Coming Home Series) - Harper Sloan

4 swoon-tastic stars

Hot hunky damaged man, with rippled abs cowboy, who dumps his life breaks a few hearts and searches for redemption in the heart of his childhood friend, that he nearly destroyed. Their bond to each other is strong but the damage is deep and dense with scar tissue that may not ever be softened. There is hot cowboy riding, smoking hot kisses, and swoon worthy moments galore is this first book in a series I am looking forward to continuing. 

The female main character. Leighton, owns and operates a bakery called The Pie Hole. She makes delicious pies for work and fun. Who wouldn't love her and want her every happiness ? She is the girl you want you want at your back, trust worthy loyal and steadfast. She loves pure and hard, but her trust is not so easy to earn back once it's been shredded and broken. I just loved her.

Maverick, this boy can pull his inner jerk out. He may be a uber hot cowboy but he acted like a massive donkey. He had good reason, he just never told anybody about the reasons. He preferred to carry that chip on his shoulder and darken his life even more. He was down and digging a deeper hole. Till life kicked him one time too many and he was forced to return to his center and realign everything in his life. 

Very enjoyable read. I liked the characters, felt for them, could relate to them, would like any of them as friends, that is a winner. 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-04-06 16:37
Reading progress update: I've read 28%.
Lost Rider (The Coming Home Series) - Harper Sloan

I love The Pie Hole, and I need some cookie dough pie. Maybe with a little cowboy on the side or a ROCK :p

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-05 16:18
Lost Rider (Coming Home #1) by Harper Sloan
Lost Rider (The Coming Home Series) - Harper Sloan

 

syns

 

In Lost Rider, the first Western romance in New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Harper Sloan’s Coming Home series, an injured rodeo star encounters an old flame but will she be just what he needs to get back in the saddle?

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?

Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?

Written in the vein of Diana Palmer and Lindsay McKenna, this Texas-set series is filled with sizzle, heart, and plenty of cowboys!

 

my though

 

 

4 ½ ★

 

This was my first book by Harper Sloan but it will not be my last. Not only did I fall in love with the book but also the author’s writing. It just was such a smooth sailing and draws you into her world.

The book had everything I liked. A second chance love. Some dark pasts to overcome all mixed with a sweet and sexy romance that stuffed full with humor.

Also loved the characters.

I really loved Leighton, she was strong, funny and stood her ground, but still had a vulnerable side to her but she would never show it.

Maverick, in the beginning all I could think was, butthead. But the more we get to know him, we understand why. There is so much more to him under that rough exterior.

Both have built large walls around them, and it was great to see those walls coming down bit by bit.

I also really enjoyed a; the side characters, there were a big part of the story but not too big to take away from the main two people. I can’t wait to read more books in the series , to get to know more about the town and the people. But also more about Davis Family.

Overall, great book and looking forward very much to read more by this author.

 

I rate it 4 ½ ★

 

 

 

*I received a free copy from the publisher and chose to leave a voluntary review. Thank you!*

 

 

 

 

 Will be available April 25th 2017

 

 

  

 

 

Abouttheauth

 

 

harper1

 

 

Harper is a NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL and USA TODAY bestselling author residing in Georgia with her husband and three daughters. She has a borderline unhealthy obsession with books, hibachi, tattoos and Game of Thrones. When she isn't writing you can almost always find her with a book in hand.

 

 

Links

 

Facebook *** Website *** Twitter *** Instagram | Pinterest *** Goodreads *** Amazon Author Page

Snoopydoo sigi

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?