logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Romance-Contemporary
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-10-20 16:22
Jesse's Diner by Cardeno C. Review
Jesse's Diner - Cardeno C.

Two men with a shared history and a mutual attraction must be honest with themselves and each other so both their dreams come true.

Quiet, unassuming Tanner Sellers spends his time running a diner in Hope, Arizona. Not particularly social, twenty-two-year-old Tanner keeps to himself and enjoys his simple life, but he longs for someone to call his own. In his most secret fantasy, that someone is sexy Steve Faus. But Steve is his friend’s father and mentor’s widower and therefore off-limits.


Despite some challenges, thirty-nine-year-old Steve Faus has had a good life. He’s extremely successful at work, has a great relationship with his college-age son, and lives in a wonderful town. Eighteen months after losing his partner, the one thing Steve lacks is someone to share his life. If Steve is honest with himself, that someone is the young man he has known and cared about for years. Steve and Tanner want one another, all they need is a little push in the right direction to make both their dreams come true

Review

 

Despite, not being a fan of the in love with my son's best friends trope (at all), this is a really sweet, straight forward romance where two wonderful heroes get what they need in each other.

 

It is a really sweet and hot romance about finding a second chance at love for one hero and getting the one he loves for another.

 

There is conflict but it is all character driven and adds to the intimacy.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-19 04:55
Lilac Lane
Lilac Lane (A Chesapeake Shores Novel) - Sherryl Woods

A Chesapeake Shores Novel #14

By: Sherryl Woods

ISBN: 9780778331339

Publisher:  MIRA

Publication Date: 10/17/2017

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 4 Stars

 

Sherryl Woods returns with her popular Chesapeake Shores series following (2015) Willow Brook Road Chesapeake Shores, #13 with LILAC LANE (#14) —From Ireland to Chesapeake Shores – A magical place for healing and a little romance.

This time around we catchup with Moira and Luke O’Brien and their baby girl, Kate. Of course, with Nell and many of the familiar characters and places we love.

Moira is concerned about her mom, Kiera. Her husband Peter’s unexpected death was shocking after her second chance and raising her children on her own. Moria wants her to come and live in Chesapeake. 

A steady dose of the O’Briens will restore her spirits. She had wasted years of bitterness and regrets after Moira’s dad left. She had taken a chance on love and now he was gone.

Maybe she could tell her she needs help with the baby, but possibly she can get her a job at the Irish pub, keeping an eye on the chef and making sure he does not stray too far from the proper Irish recipes. 

Her mom needed the family. With much persuasion, she agrees to come to charming Chesapeake Shores as a consultant. She can always return to Dublin. 

She rents a lovely cottage on Lilac Lane and is feeling good being part of a family. However, soon learns her neighbor is none other than Bryan Laramie, the not so pleasant and annoying chef at the pub, with whom Kiera is constantly at war with. 

Moira soon sees the electricity between her mom and Bryan (similar to the relationship between her own relationship with Luke), when they first met. 

However, Kiera thinks he is infuriating. 

Of course, if you know the O’Briens they never mind their own business and the clan is always meddling to make sure everyone is happy.

Bryan, on the other hand, has his own past. He had enough broken hearts to last a lifetime and was still recovering from this last one.

Then his long-lost daughter shows up and both Bryan and Keira may have more in common than they may know. Plus, as always, there is always a community-wide event to ignite the flames.

With two complex personalities, it was time for the annual Fall Festival Irish Stew cook-off. And this town does nothing better than “stir the pot.”

 

 



With some competition, stubbornness, clever planning, Irish recipes, sacrifices, meddling, bets, some risks, and of course a little romance, to demonstrate love conquers all.

If you enjoy heartwarming stories of strong family bonds and authentic characters, Chesapeake Shores will draw you into their world with open arms. For fans of Debbie Macomber, Joanne Demaio, Mariah Stewart, and Susan Wiggs. 

LOVE the Chesapeake Shores series (TV series and have read all the books in the series)— among many of her other books. A longtime fan of Sherryl Woods, starting in my younger years (before Goodreads) thru today. I love the idyllic settings, vivid descriptions, and intriguing characters. 

Looking forward to hopefully Season 3 since Season 2 just wrapped up. Always look forward to the Sunday show. It makes me want to return to these books and read them for the second time. Sherryl allows you to escape and travel without leaving your home. It is the next best thing to being there. An ah moment. 

Many thanks to MIRA and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy. I also listened to the audiobook, narrated by Christina Traister for an engaging listening experience.

In addition, I am very excited about the highly anticipated A Small Town Love Story: Colonial Beach, Virginia Coming Nov 14, 2017, on my Top 20 Books coming Nov. Part memoir, part oral history. The author gives us a rare and intimate look at Colonial Beach, Virginia. 

Readers you will want to add this to your library collection and your must-read list.

JDCMustReadBooks

 

 

Source: www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/single-post/2017/08/14/Lilac-Lane
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-17 22:20
Define sustain: to give support or relief to; to supply with sustenance : nourish; keep up, prolong...a perfect title for this story.
Sustained (The Legal Briefs Series) - Emma Chase

Book Title:  Sustained

Author:  Emma Chase

Narration:  Sebastian York

Series:  Legal Briefs #2

Genre:  Contemporary Romance

Setting:  Washington D.C.

Source:  Audiobook (Library)

 

 

 

Add to Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Plot:  5/5

Main Characters:  5/5

Secondary Characters:  5+/5

The Feels:  5/5

Addictiveness:  5/5

Theme or Tone:  5/5

Flow (Writing Style):  5/5

Backdrop (World Building):  5/5

Book Cover:  4/5

Narration:  5/5

Ending:  4.5/5  Cliffhanger:  Nope.

Steam Factor 0-5:  4

Total:  5/5 STARS - GRADE=A+

 

 

 

This is sooooo much better than the first book in this series…I loved this.  Those kids were my undoing, I laughed and I even shed a couple tears for them and Jake and Chelsea were super sweet together.  A good contemporary romance with just the right amount of believable angst…in a word, perfect.

 

Will I continue this series?⇜  I will now, for sure, since this book has completely redeemed this series and Emma Chase for me?

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-12 21:03
Deck The Halls
Deck the Halls: A Darling, VT Christmas Romance Novella (A Darling, VT Novel) - Donna Alward

Title:  Deck The Halls

Author:  Donna Award 

Publisher: Swerve

Series Darling, VT

Reviewed By: Arlena Dean

Rating:  Five

Review:


"Deck The Halls" by Donna Alward


My Thoughts..... 


A well thought out contemporary romantic novella that is part of 'The Darling, VT series with some undercurrent of personal struggles. What a story this was as it presented 'the tough subject of veterans and what could happen when they return home only to have to live with the horrors what had happened will they were away serving our country.' This is definitely one of those stories that will touch ones heart. I liked how this author was able to get George who was a 'wonderful, gentle, proud man who had fought for his country, lost everything suffering from PTSD had finally been given a second chance.  What will happen as the twin sister of his best friend [Ian] Amy Merck arrives and reawakens old bad feelings that had been so close to him? For George had blamed himself for years over Ian's death. Will these two [George & Amy] be able to finds some degree of closures and be able to help one another?  With each other needing so much healing you will have to pick up "Deck The Halls' to see how this heartwarming emotional novella that will put you in a holiday seasonal mood.

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-12 20:44
With This Christmas Ring
With This Christmas Ring - Manda Collins

Title:  With This Christmas Ring

Author:  Manda Collins

Publisher: Swerve

Reviewed By: Arlena Dean

Rating:  Five

Review:


"With This Christmas Ring" by Manda Collins


My Thoughts....

 

What a good holiday romance read of just what can happen when a love lost will be found once again that will definite capture the wonderful feeling of the true spirit of this holiday season.  I found this short novella story to be well written from the start to the finish that will definite keep your attention. This was one of those read that will have you shaking your head as this story unfolds that tells 'the tale of a pair of lovers that were truly torn apart by the conspiracies of a particular family member.'  What will happen when all of the story comes out from traveling to Wrotham Castle?  Will these two [Merry & Alex] that had been torn apart be able to work toward their HEA?  Well, to find out you will have to pick up "With This Christmas Ring" to find out.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?