logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: bone
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-06-17 19:12
Reading progress update: I've read 7%.
Children of Blood and Bone: Goldener Zorn - Tomi Adeyemi,Andrea Fischer

When in a reading slump, start all the books.

0 Links
<!-- Used for easily cloning the properly namespaced rect -->
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-06-11 13:21
"Bone Music" by Christopher Rice - I can't cope with this
Bone Music - Christopher Rice

"Bone Music" is original, well-written, emotionally engaging and very very threatening. It is all the things I want in a thriller but I can't continue with it.


I was only 11% through this book when I set it aside, intending to get back to it when my mood lifted. That was three months ago and I haven't been able to bring myself back to it.


I suspect that this will end up being a popular series with a remarkable heroine. The obstacle for me is that I'm at a point in the story where a woman who has survived childhood abduction and abuse, commercial exploitation by her father and all the nastiness associated with public notoriety in this peck-me-to-death-on-Twitter threaten-me-on-Instagram age and who has gone on to build a safe space for herself, is about to have that space violated with the help of those who should be protecting her.


It's a series. She's the main character. So she must survive this also. At the 20% mark, there must be a twist that sets her on a new path.


The problem is that this mindset, this careful planning of violation and destruction, revolts me. It's too real. Too common. I don't want it in my head, especially when it's placed there by someone who writes as well as Christopher Rice.


I'm reluctantly adding this to my DNF pile. The good thing is that it's taught me that there are some plot devices that I need to avoid. I'll take a look at Christopher Rice's other books and see if there is something there that will allow me to enjoy his obvious talent.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-06-07 20:40
Shadow and Bone - Leigh Bardugo,Leigh Bardugo

 Amazing! Loved the writing and the world and the romance! Didn't like the characters, but I'm hoping to see them get better further on in the trilogy!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-06-06 10:00
Release Week Review! Bone Driven (Founding # 2) Hailey Edwards!
Bone Driven - Hailey Edwards

 

 

The bayou is burning, the battle is just beginning - and Luce Boudreau is smack in the middle of no-man's land . . .


Life as a cop in Canton Town, Mississippi, is never dull - particularly when hiding deep within you is a demon bent on the apocalypse. Luce is doing her best to pretend her two worlds aren't crashing into each other, but what should be a routine arson investigation takes a shocking turn when Luce discovers a link between the suspects and her own dark secrets. There's no turning back, even though her search for the truth threatens to burn her old life down around her.
Lines are being drawn in a war Luce barely understands, and she just might be on the wrong side of them. Now she must embrace her powerful destiny, or the ones she loves most will pay the ultimate price.


Book Two in the powerfully addictive fantasy series The Foundling, perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Jenn Stark and Helen Harper

 


The second book in the Foundling series, Bone Driven is a fascinating read that draws you in and refuses to let you go.

 

The characters in this urban fantasy are strong, compelling and endlessly intriguing, about the time you think you have them figured out, they add something new to the mix and you have more facets of their characters that hooks into your curiosity gene and ensures that you are gonna come back for more. Luce Boudreau, the heroine of the series certainly pulls readers into the story as she some mysterious depths that appeal to readers… well I really have to be honest and say all the characters seem to be that way. There’s not a lot of romance in the book, just hints and some sizzling chemistry between Luce and of her guys but there are lots of bonds and connections that are intriguing and capture reader’s attention.

 

The story is fast paced as there is never a dull moment to be found and there is lots of intrigue and surprises throughout the story to keep the readers on the edge of their seats and quite a few characters also add to the suspense as you try to determine if they are friend, foe or maybe they are sheep in wolf’s clothing and going to do a total about face one day in the future. The author made it easy to imagine each and every scene as they played out and brought them along with each of the characters to vivid life, so it was easy to become caught up in all the happenings and there was no way for me to put the book down, once I began.

 

On a side note, I haven’t read the first book in the Foundling series yet (which I will be remedying soon) and while I had no trouble figuring things out, I feel that they should be read in sequence to have a complete understanding of this unique and fascinating world and the events that led up to this book.

 


Bone Driven
Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38315584-bone-driven



The 2nd book in the Foundling series which includes:


http://haileyedwards.net/foundling/

 

Bayou Born #1

 

& #3 Death Knell (coming 12-4-18)


Bone Driven is available in print or ebook at:


Amazon - https://amzn.to/2HHHEOM

 

B&N - https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bone-driven-hailey-edwards/1127872088?ean=9780349417080



iBooks - https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/bone-driven/id1338665127?mt=11



GPlay - https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Hailey_Edwards_Bone_Driven?id=CzhIDwAAQBAJ



Kobo - https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/bone-driven-1

 

eBooks - https://www.ebooks.com/95940562/bone-driven/edwards-hailey/

 

Little Brown - https://www.littlebrown.co.uk/books/detail.page?isbn=9780349417073

 

 

 

can be found at:

 

Website - http://www.haileyedwards.net/

 

Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3345773.Hailey_Edwards



Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/authorhaileyedwards



Twitter - https://twitter.com/HaileyEdwards

 

InstaGram - https://instagram.com/hailey_writes/

 

BookBub - https://www.bookbub.com/authors/hailey-edwards

 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-06-03 23:25
Reading progress update: I've read 72 out of 529 pages.
The Mime Order - Samantha Shannon

Wonder if or when we get to see  the Warden ...
Image result for curious gif

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?