logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: fans
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-30 19:26
The Shock: A disturbing thriller for fans of Jeffery Deaver - Marc Raabe

A woman is abducted in France. Her friend finds her cell phone and with this information he follows her back home to Berlin. There the chase for the abducter, who turns out to be a serial killer, starts in earnest. The storyline is good, up to a certain point,and then it starts to wander. But the style,the writing is lacking something. Perhaps it is due to the translation (it was originally published in German).All in all,after a good start, a bit of a disappointment. 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-11-09 19:55
Field of Girls...
Field of Girls: A gripping thriller for fans of Jo Nesbo and Henning Mankell - Martin Krist

I read Field of Girls really fast. Its one of those that you just bang through, I kind of read it last night. So it has a compelling nature about it.

 

It is a cool murder mystery/psychological thriller with a main character, Alex, who was extremely engaging, his backstory is intriguing and a bit different to the norm for these things so that was a major plus. The plot twists were clever and it had its dark side and the dark side always appeals to me.

 

However it was not without its problems. The narrative was a little disjointed, the lines were not clear, especially in the early portion before the flow got going. A character jumble that took a while to come together in my head, not sure whether that was because something was lost in translation. I kept with it though because even with that I wanted to know where it was going.

 

I’d say for a book in this genre it was solid storytelling with a good premise and a decent execution with some small hiccups. Would I read more from Martin Krist? Yes absolutely. I have a sense of his voice now so I doubt the same problems would arise and he spins a good yarn. And I do love a good yarn.

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?