logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: messages
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-06-10 22:44
More and More and More
Weak Messages Create Bad Situations: A Manifesto - David Shrigley
Only Skin - Sean Ford
The Little World of Liz Climo - Liz Climo

Weak Messages Create Bad Situations

 

I don't have much to say about this one, except that it wasn't my cuppa.  Those who like Southpark probably will enjoy the humor here, good for you, not for me as Amy Poehler might say.

 

Only Skin

 

I really enjoyed this creepy story of bizarre murders in a small town.  Are people being killed by ghosts?  Aliens?  Other mysterious creatures in the woods?  What do they want and how can our characters stop the murders?

 

I liked the characters and their relationships a lot, and some of the discussions that happen throughout the narrative.  The twist ending seemed a bit forced and odd, didn't quite fit with the rest of the creepy theme set up through the rest of the book.

 

However, I still enjoyed it quite a bit.

 

The Little World of Liz Climo

 

Cute and humorous little comics.  Fans of Kate Beaton, and Cat Vs. Human will probably enjoy the quirky characters and their adulting troubles.  A quick read too.  Nice to flip through, though probably just check out Climo's webcomic for a humor fix.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-06-02 23:26
This one is all about the messages...
Unseen Messages - Pepper Winters

Book Title:  Unseen Messages

Author:  Pepper Winters

Series:  Stand Alone

Genre:  Contemporary Romance, Survival

Source:  Own Kindle E-Book

 

"My body strained to hold her as if she was the perfect ending to my unhappy tragedy."  --I like that...it's quite perfect."

 

 

 

Ratings Breakdown

 

Plot:  4.3/5

Characters:  4.3/5

The Feels:  Sometimes 3/5, sometimes 5/5

Theme:  5/5

Flow:  3.5/5

Backdrop (World Building):  5/5

Originality:  5/5

Book Cover:  5/5

Ending:  5/5  Cliffhanger:  No

 

Will I read more from this Author?  I don't know...the British/Australian version of English in this book drove me crazy.  Too much so...

 

 

4.3/5 STARS

 

My Thoughts

 

There were components I loved about this book and some I loathed.  One of latter would be mentioned above.  Another one would be this Author's obsession with the word OBEY, I really have issues with that word.  I didn't realize how extensive my issues were with this word were...until, I read this book.  Lol.  Also, the first half of the book, I did a lot of eye rolling when it came to the tension and actions of Galloway, he was just an ugh…

 

Parts that I loved about this book; the whole survival aspect, it was fascinating at times.  I loved the dynamics of it, as well as, the love that grew between these four people.  I also loved how it ended.  It was perfect.  I don't know if it was doable, but she presented like it was, so that's all that matters.  This is my first book by Pepper Winters.

 

Sex Factor:  Hmmm…well, there is a lot of uncomfortable sexual tension for the first half of the book and then finally some sex scenes, they were explicit but not...well...necessarily done the way I like them.

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-03-24 19:39
Angels of Abundance: Heaven's 11 Messages to Help You Manifest Support, Supply and Every Form of Abundance - Grant Virtue,Doreen Virtue

Full disclosure up front: because I am on Doreen Virtue's e-mail list, I received this book free of charge. I was not asked to review it, but I do want to be clear that it didn't cost me anything.

Now, having said that ... this book contains excellent, easy-to-follow, and practical advice for abundance in a variety of areas, not just finance. Doreen and Grant Virtue outline methods for focusing on and achieving goals in a variety of areas, and they do so in a friendly and conversational way.

I enjoyed reading this book, and am grateful to have received it.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-03-01 14:48
Talking Pictures: Images and Messages Rescued from the Past - Ransom Riggs
Inizio: 1 marzo
Finito: 1 marzo

Voto: 1/5

Consigliato: No!
Ok non so proprio cosa dire su questo libro, sono soltanto foto più o meno bizzarre e per nulla interessanti di sconosciuti, l'autore fin da piccolo essendo appassionato di foto ha deciso di raccoglierle e poi... pubblicarle... tutto qui. Interessante? Certamente no! O almeno non per Grinch e animi sensibili come una pozzanghera come la sottoscritta che ha trovato questo libro solo una palla... Se tutti gli scrittori dovessero pubblicare foto "creepy" dei loro parenti o vicini di casa avremmo le librerie piene di album di famiglia, l'unico motivo per cui questo libro è diventato minimamente famoso è che le foto sono diventate nella saga "I bambini di Miss Peregrine" un po' il fulcro della storia, nei romanzi della serie però le foto più o meno bizzarre hanno un senso e completano il libro qui invece... NO! Piuttosto che spenderci soldi o tempo prendete il VOSTRO album di famiglia e riguardatevelo, sicuramente troverete maggiori motivi per sorridere o emozionarvi.

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-07-20 10:22
Very thought provoking
The Hidden Messages in Water - Masaru Emoto,David A. Thayne

This book can shake your ideas, it is a very inspiring book,
Try to keep an open mind while reading.
Dr. Masaru Emoto discovered that crystals formed in frozen water reveal changes when specific,
concentrated thoughts are directed toward them in the form of words.
Dr. Masaru Emoto describes the ability of water to absorb, hold, and even re transmit human feelings and emotions
It's an interesting book that shows the positive(or negative) possibilities when positive(or negative) energy is focused and directed.
The experiments he did with crystals are absolutely fascinating and serve as visual proof of how words can affect us.
The pictures are amazing.
This book is very thought provoking

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?