logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: messages
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2018-04-23 02:27
The V girl - Mya Robarts
 

 


description

Sebastian Rolli as Aleksey Fürst. (Thanks Michelle for telling me the name of this hot dude)

description

Re-read: Amazon sent me a letter to update the book. Love it EVEN more the second time.

First and foremost. I DON'T WANT IT TO END! I WANT MORE PLEASE!!!!!

Thank you Mya Roberts for writing this beautiful, epic LOVE STORY.

Now the theme itself is so HORRIFYING that for a while I debated whether I wanted to read the book or not. Usually rape is not something I want to read. In fact I read the reviews of the V girl first before reading and most of them were accurate, rape is not something that we get to see graphically . I can't stand rape. I just can't. But the INTELLIGENT, MATURE, ALMOST POETIC approach the author used to tackle this difficult topic was brilliant. There's rape, the blurb says as much but it's more than a menace, a threat to the people who live in this world. 90% of the book the story is more about the Heroine's fight, about her feelings, not about rape for the sake of bringing drama. Nothing like game of thrones style.

It's sad to think that The V girl society is very realistic. I think our own society has come to accept rape and abuse as something that can't be avoided. From where we stand as society where rape culture is fed on us daily to the moment a society like this becomes a reality...i'm sad to think about it but it may happen. it seems like whenever there's war there's crime. Looting, Murder, torture, rape, slavery. Honestly just see what Hitler did. I'm sure his high comanders had green card to do whatever they wanted to the people they oppressed. Countless of TV shows, movies and books talk about torture and murder during war. They never talk about rape and that's sadly the reality every women of every country that has been invaded has to live. For them or for someone they know.

There's PLOT

YOU HEAR ME PLOT

and subplots too. There's a good story here that made me cry, laugh, throw my kindle to the garbage (literally) swoon REPEATEDLY.

Swoon? why?

Because ALEKSEY FURST! A SOLDIER WHO DOES WHAT'S RIGHT! what the other soldiers should do. PROTECT PEOPLE and he wasn't expecting to fall in love with Lila but he did. It's a very difficult situation for this couple. On the one hand she FOR OBVIOUS REASONS hates soldiers. On the other hand IT'S PROHIBITED TO HAVE A FOREIGN AND AN AMERICAN getting married and the punishement is torture. (rape? no problem. Love? heaven forbid! how come?)

But aleksey fights his way to get Lila's heart, he changes for her, he risks everything for her, and little by little she'll find that Aleksey is not her enemy. He's there to LOVE HER not to take advantage of the situation.

Would he gain her heart and have the honor to be the one who deflowers the heroine?






There's plenty of sex. yes but it's portrayed in a way that fits the plot perfectly.

And when you reach the 85% mark you'll be ready to cry and soak your kindle. Its that dramatic. And what comes next is horrifying.

But thanks god there's something that Roberts had in store for us that we weren't expecting. A HEA just when things looked to be going for the worst, just when I thought happiness wasn't possible, I learned that there's hope and I ended up smiling. It was so beautiful.

Now a warning. The book is BRUTAL, HORRIFYING AND NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART. It's super dark and for your sake if you're squimish I suggest you skim or even avoid chapters 53 and 54. I'll repeat AVOID CHAPTERS 53 AND 54 if you're squimish. They're brilliant but not for the faint of heart. Even so I think Roberts did a great job in presenting a scene like that only when was needed. She didn't overuse the horror of the situation to bring more drama. I think it was beautifully handled.
I'm a fan and I'm recommending this book to everyone on my list.
Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-06-10 22:44
More and More and More
Weak Messages Create Bad Situations: A Manifesto - David Shrigley
Only Skin - Sean Ford
The Little World of Liz Climo - Liz Climo

Weak Messages Create Bad Situations

 

I don't have much to say about this one, except that it wasn't my cuppa.  Those who like Southpark probably will enjoy the humor here, good for you, not for me as Amy Poehler might say.

 

Only Skin

 

I really enjoyed this creepy story of bizarre murders in a small town.  Are people being killed by ghosts?  Aliens?  Other mysterious creatures in the woods?  What do they want and how can our characters stop the murders?

 

I liked the characters and their relationships a lot, and some of the discussions that happen throughout the narrative.  The twist ending seemed a bit forced and odd, didn't quite fit with the rest of the creepy theme set up through the rest of the book.

 

However, I still enjoyed it quite a bit.

 

The Little World of Liz Climo

 

Cute and humorous little comics.  Fans of Kate Beaton, and Cat Vs. Human will probably enjoy the quirky characters and their adulting troubles.  A quick read too.  Nice to flip through, though probably just check out Climo's webcomic for a humor fix.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-06-02 23:26
This one is all about the messages...
Unseen Messages - Pepper Winters

Book Title:  Unseen Messages

Author:  Pepper Winters

Series:  Stand Alone

Genre:  Contemporary Romance, Survival

Source:  Own Kindle E-Book

 

"My body strained to hold her as if she was the perfect ending to my unhappy tragedy."  --I like that...it's quite perfect."

 

 

 

Ratings Breakdown

 

Plot:  4.3/5

Characters:  4.3/5

The Feels:  Sometimes 3/5, sometimes 5/5

Theme:  5/5

Flow:  3.5/5

Backdrop (World Building):  5/5

Originality:  5/5

Book Cover:  5/5

Ending:  5/5  Cliffhanger:  No

 

Will I read more from this Author?  I don't know...the British/Australian version of English in this book drove me crazy.  Too much so...

 

 

4.3/5 STARS

 

My Thoughts

 

There were components I loved about this book and some I loathed.  One of latter would be mentioned above.  Another one would be this Author's obsession with the word OBEY, I really have issues with that word.  I didn't realize how extensive my issues were with this word were...until I read this book.  Lol.  Also, the first half of the book, I did a lot of eye-rolling when it came to the tension and actions of Galloway, he was just an ugh…

 

Parts that I loved about this book; the whole survival aspect, it was fascinating at times.  I loved the dynamics of it, as well as, the love that grew between these four people.  I also loved how it ended.  It was perfect.  I don't know if it was doable, but she presented like it was, so that's all that matters.  This is my first book by Pepper Winters.

 

Sex Factor:  Hmmm…well, there is a lot of uncomfortable sexual tension for the first half of the book and then finally some sex scenes, they were explicit but not...well...necessarily done the way I like them.

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-03-24 19:39
Angels of Abundance: Heaven's 11 Messages to Help You Manifest Support, Supply and Every Form of Abundance - Grant Virtue,Doreen Virtue

Full disclosure up front: because I am on Doreen Virtue's e-mail list, I received this book free of charge. I was not asked to review it, but I do want to be clear that it didn't cost me anything.

Now, having said that ... this book contains excellent, easy-to-follow, and practical advice for abundance in a variety of areas, not just finance. Doreen and Grant Virtue outline methods for focusing on and achieving goals in a variety of areas, and they do so in a friendly and conversational way.

I enjoyed reading this book, and am grateful to have received it.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-03-01 14:48
Talking Pictures: Images and Messages Rescued from the Past - Ransom Riggs
Inizio: 1 marzo
Finito: 1 marzo

Voto: 1/5

Consigliato: No!
Ok non so proprio cosa dire su questo libro, sono soltanto foto più o meno bizzarre e per nulla interessanti di sconosciuti, l'autore fin da piccolo essendo appassionato di foto ha deciso di raccoglierle e poi... pubblicarle... tutto qui. Interessante? Certamente no! O almeno non per Grinch e animi sensibili come una pozzanghera come la sottoscritta che ha trovato questo libro solo una palla... Se tutti gli scrittori dovessero pubblicare foto "creepy" dei loro parenti o vicini di casa avremmo le librerie piene di album di famiglia, l'unico motivo per cui questo libro è diventato minimamente famoso è che le foto sono diventate nella saga "I bambini di Miss Peregrine" un po' il fulcro della storia, nei romanzi della serie però le foto più o meno bizzarre hanno un senso e completano il libro qui invece... NO! Piuttosto che spenderci soldi o tempo prendete il VOSTRO album di famiglia e riguardatevelo, sicuramente troverete maggiori motivi per sorridere o emozionarvi.

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?