logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: oyster
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-08-21 00:00
Salt Water Wounds (Oyster Cove Series Book 1)
Salt Water Wounds (Oyster Cove Series Book 1) - Jennifer Foor description

I'm calling this quits at 50%, or rather I am tapping out before I decide to hurl myself off the nearest bridge....

description

The first 50% of this book was DEPRESSING as hell. Heck we spend the first chapter of it with Buck whining about his life and his kids and his job. We hear OVER and OVER and OVER again about how much he misses his wife (who died 7 years previously). Now I am not one that is generally bothered by the whole "dead ex" thing in books, but I wanted to smack Buck and say " Move the F@CK on Bucky Boy..." The dude even has his dead wife's bathrobe still hanging on the door.

I could have gotten over that less than impressive introduction to our hero, had he been a stand up guy. But NOOOO this dude is a self centered asshole. Here are a few quotes about how he reacts when he sees the heroine in trouble...

description
"Look, I’m not interested in investing my shitty afternoon in your business when I don’t have a pot to piss in myself. I’m not trying to be rude, but I need to get out of here."
description

That was in response to the heroine's ex (an ex that beat her almost near to death) showing up at her work and threatening her and her mentioning wanting to sell her bar. Stand up guy you are Buck...

description
"The last thing I want is some broad’s drama, especially her psycho ex-husband"
description

That was in response to the heroine BEGGING him to let her and her son come stay with him for the night to hide from he ex...

description

On top of ALL that everyone in this book (first 50%) is either a douchnoodle or a depressing asshat. The heroine comes across as pathetic and desperate. Buck's children (especially the daughter) come across like spoiled assholes. His house is described as a sh!thole (dog crap on the floor...dishes everywhere...empty beer cans lying around (oh ya, Buck is a bit of a drunk as well...delightful our Buck)

Apparently I went off on a little tangent there, suffice it to say this just didn't work for me AT ALL. I'm sure there will be others that embrace it fully, so don't let my ranting deter you ya, I lied...totally let it deter you.

description

description
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-06-05 14:55
For Francophile oyster lovers.
Meet Paris Oyster: A Love Affair with th... Meet Paris Oyster: A Love Affair with the Perfect Food (Audio) - Mireille Guiliano

If her name sounds familiar it's because author Mireille Guiliano has written books like 'French Women Don't Get Fat'. Here she writes a book about oysters.

 

That's really the sum of it. She loves oysters and writes about eating them, the types there are, the myths/histories surrounding oysters, recipes, etc. That's really it, honestly. There's not a depth to it and it's rather easy to read this all in a day, perhaps in a few hours. This is definitely one of those books that should have been a magazine long-read at best.

 

I don't eat seafood, don't personally understand the appeal of oysters at all as a food, but if you're a fan of her previous books, are a foodie, or like oysters then this book might be for you. I would recommend you get this from the library though unless you're really a fan or have a specific interest in the subject.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-05-18 00:00
Summer at Oyster Bay
Summer at Oyster Bay - Jenny Hale Summer at Oyster Bay - Jenny Hale
ARC Review: Summer at Oyster Bay by Jenny Hale

Stories like Summer at Oyster Bay are sentimental because they touch something inside of the reader and that is what gets the emotions flowing. Ms. Hale wrote a read that is full of heart and as thoughtful as it is romantic. Emily left home because she needed a change, she returned home for the same reason. The serenity, family bonds and familiarity gave her a sense of home and belonging that she had been missing for a while. But her peace of mind is short lived when she meets the one person who can upset the balance of all she holds dear. Life's legacy is to learn from all the experiences we have and that is what I took away from Jenny Hale's story. Beauty,nostalgia and maturity are power themes in this pleasant read.
Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-01-09 02:08
Comics Clearance #3
The Dharma Punks - Anthony Sang,Dylan Horrocks
Get Jiro: Blood and Sushi - Anthony Bourdain,Joel Rose,Ale Garza
Trick 'r Treat: Days of the Dead - Michael Dougherty
Oyster War - Ben Towle,Ben Towle
Bandette Volume 2 Stealers Keepers! - Paul Tobin,Coleen Coover

Working on it!

 

The Dharma Punks - When the heart of a group of friends splits the rest are left to pick up the pieces.  For Chopstick this means getting deep into a nihilistic brand of Buddhism, refusing to care about the material world (or anyone in it).  Funny to read this after I recently finished, 10% Happier...a book looking at how meditation changed Dan Harris' life for the better.  This is a punk coming-of-age story, exploring religion, identity and morality.

 

Get Jiro; Blood & Sushi - Before Jiro came stateside he had a few bones to settle with his Yakuza family.  Jiro's dad is the head of a large Yakuza family, but, unlike his father or his older brother, he has no taste for bullying and senseless violence.  He keeps his true passion a secret, crafting sushi.  However, soon his apprenticeship to a master sushi chef is found out and a bloody family feud ensues.  Over-the-top, entertaining, a fast-paced action story, though I have to say I enjoyed the zanier first volume a bit more.

 

Trick 'R Treat; Days of the Dead - In the fashion of Bradbury's Halloween Tree story, this comic book explores the history behind the best holiday of the year, a holiday where friends come together, neighbors take part in true generosity and people are encouraged to participate in creative activities, costume play and exploration.  Anyway.  I love Halloween and though I didn't love all of these Halloween history vignettes, the end was worth the wait.

 

Oyster War - A very strange tale, based somewhat on true events, but with plenty of just weird bits to keep me entertained.  I loved the main character and his determination to put an end to the damaging activities of the oyster pirates.  Hilarious and definitely something different.  For fans of Far Arden or A Crab Story.

 

Bandette; Stealers Keepers -  Bandette is back!  I missed her!  I wanted a candy bar so much after reading this lovely comic book.  I'd highly recommend it for fans of the movie Amelie or classic heist films.  Bandette has a lot of the quirkiness of Amelie in her and in the back of the book the authors explain some of their influences (including the movie).  There is also an illustrated novella at the end that adds even more depth to this fun world.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2015-04-05 23:41
Hard Love - Ellen Wittlinger

Another new to me author, thanks to my self-appointed task of reading all of the Printz award winning and honored books. Published in 1999, this was an Honor Book in the first round of awards in 2000.

I flat-out LOVED this book. So much so, that as soon as I'm done with the year 2000 Printz books, I'm going to take a short detour to read the companion book, Love and Lies. I've had the window open to write this post since yesterday, but I can't think of anything to say, which is stupid, since I liked it so much. I feel like "gah....it was SOOOO good...." doesn't really do the trick when I'm trying to use this space to think and write critically.

I suspect that some readers might find the zine culture that informs the book to be dated. I think the experience of the characters is universal enough, that a smart reader ought to be able to get over that pretty quickly. I did find myself wondering, as I read all of these Printz books, about how different they'd be if they'd been written in the age of ubiquitous smartphones and social media.

This book, would probably be about Instagram and blogging (do kids even do that?), and Snapchat, and YouTube, I suppose. Oh wait -- I know --- TUMBLR.

I think what drew me in to this book was that right away on the first page, the main character said something that sounded like a lot of teenagers I know:

I didn't bother to remind him that I don't really go to this school. People think I do, but it's only my physical body, not me.


That snarky attitude made me want to know more about John, and I ended up caring quite a bit about what happened to him and to his friends. I watched him set himself up for a huge crash, and suffered with him when the inevitable happened. I am glad that the book didn't end up with a tied-up-in-a-bow happy ending, but it wasn't a sad end, either. He went on a journey and changed, and that's what we want from any book, isn't it?

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?