logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: shades
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2020-06-06 00:00
These Old Shades
These Old Shades - Georgette Heyer 3.5 stars (the +0.5 come from the ending)
I enjoyed this book but a little bit less than what I was expecting. I don't know if it was the setting (Heyer is much more versed in English society than French) or the couple (I was rooting for another hero for the most part of the book) or the heroine herself (who was a little too naïve for what she'd lived and for my liking) or something else. However, these flaws didn't remove much from my reading enjoyment because when I noticed I had already passed the 50% mark by far in one sitting…
Now, I'll stop writing this review so I can start Devil's Cub ASAP.
Like Reblog Comment
text 2020-03-09 07:00
Four Benefits Of Installing Blackout Shades

Window blinds are a necessary addition to homes for various reasons such as added security, improved power efficiency, and even privacy.

All of the benefits mentioned can be complimented even more by switching to automatic blackout shades Irvine CA. Here are some of the benefits of making the switch to automatic blackout shades for windows over the traditional setup.

No Risks To Children Or Pets


A very major concern for most homeowners is the safety of their children when it comes to having window blinds or shades that feature a chorded system. The chord in a chorded system can be a potential safety hazard for children of young age as they risk getting themselves entangled, and can even be strangled in the worst-case scenarios, especially with the designs that feature a loop.

Motorized shades take out the possibility of this threat that is equal to children of young age, and also pets that you leave unattended. Since the motorized shades do not feature or need a chord to operate on, you can have a peace of mind leaving your children and pets to play around the house.

Boosts Energy Efficiency


One of the basic aims of having window shades or blinds installed in the first place is to have control over the light and insulation. But as you may not be quite regular and peculiar about opening the shades yourself in the morning to get the light in and then closing them at the peak heat hours for insulation, the beat the purpose one way or the other.

Custom remote blackout shades can be set up to open and close at specific times of the day to maximize energy efficiency. You don’t even have to be home for them to function and boost energy efficiency by providing maximum insulation as well as an inlet of light.

Protects Furniture And Home Decorations

It is no secret how harmful the direct rays of the sun can be to your furniture, fabrics, carpets, and other belongings. The direct rays of the sun make them fade in color, can cause them to swell up, and fade away in the appeal over time.

Somfy electric blackout shades offer you the perfect alternative and defense against it. other than being set up to specific times of the day to be pulled closed, a sunlight sensor can also be installed to monitor the direct impact of sunlight. The shades will pull close automatically if the sun’s light is directly upon your room to protect your belongings, and will open in time themselves when the direct impact of sunlight is not present.

Added Security

Window coverings of all sorts add a feature of security to your house from keeping the passersby from peeking into your house. On the contrary, motorized shades for windows include even an additional and more effective feature of security addition to your house.

Since the automated blackout shades operate automatically, either by being set up for specific times of the day or operated by the sunlight sensors. They give the feeling of someone being at home all the time by opening and closing regularly, even when you have been away for quite some time.

Source: smartshadingsystems.com
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2020-01-31 19:12
Shades of Wicked
Shades of Wicked - Jeaniene Frost

 
Night Rebel, Book 1

I Picked Up This Book Because: Celeb memoirs are my jam.

The Characters:

Ian: Who I have loved since he first graced us with his presence on the page
Veritas: Who we don’t know well but that all changes in this book
Dagon, Silver, Mencares, Cat, Bones

The Story:

This story is a great addition to the Night Huntress World. We’ve been waiting for Ian’s story and Ms Frost did not disappoint. This is a fast paced adventure with comedy and sex on the side.

I especially enjoyed the ending and can't wait for the next book.

The Random Thoughts:

#LibraryLoveChallenge

The Score Card:

description

3.5 Stars

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-09-24 19:28
The Shadow Cabinet / Maureen Johnson
The Shadow Cabinet (The Shades of London) - Maureen Johnson

Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries to determine if she acted in time to save a member of the squad. If she did, how do you find a ghost? Also, Rory’s classmate Charlotte has been kidnapped by Jane and her nefarious organization. Evidence is uncovered of a forty-year-old cult, ten missing teenagers, and a likely mass murder. Everything indicates that Charlotte’s in danger, and it seems that something much bigger and much more terrible is coming.

Time is running out as Rory fights to find her friends and the ghost squad struggles to stop Jane from unleashing her spectral nightmare on the entire city. In the process, they'll discover the existence of an organization that underpins London itself - and Rory will learn that someone she trusts has been keeping a tremendous secret.

 

 

I read this book to fill the Darkest London square of my 2019 Halloween Bingo Card.

I have rated all three books in this series so far at 4 stars, because I really enjoyed them. However, the first book still reigns supreme for me. This one, book 3, is better than the second one, but still not as much fun as book one. I miss the boarding school surroundings and Rory’s dread of field hockey. And Claudia. I miss Claudia.

Still, it’s a very good story, with suitably spooky Sid & Sadie waiting in the wings to use Rory’s talents. Plus the rather unappealing Thorpe, who now heads the team while Stephen is out of commission. I was happy to have Jerome reappear and he still has Rory’s back. Stephen is an unknown quantity at this point--after all that he has been through, will he be able to relate to Rory at all? I’m unapologetically on Team Jerome, but I’m probably in the minority on that one.

I’ll definitely read book four when/if it becomes available. I keep being surprised at how much I enjoy Young Adult literature, but I keep finding series like this one, which are well written, suspenseful, and deal with subjects and situations that interest me.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2019-05-07 12:11
★★ NEW Murder Mystery from Author Carolyn Arnold ★★ SHADES OF JUSTICE (Detective Madison Knight)
Shades of Justice (Detective Madison Knight series #9) - Carolyn Arnold
★★ NEW Murder Mystery from Author Carolyn Arnold ★★
SHADES OF JUSTICE (Detective Madison Knight)
The line between good and evil isn’t always clear…

"The victim is ‘Lorene Malone’. The list of suspects is endless. The detail in this book is incredible, Arnold has clearly done her research. It was all believable and I felt like I was working alongside Madison to help solve the case." reviews Carly Louise Wilson

"Shades of Justice was a real page-turner that aces to a satisfying finish. I love the procedural information that Arnold injects into her writing which makes you feel as if you are part of the investigative team. Highly recommended" reviews Mother Distracted - A Family & Lifestyle Blog

"The guessing game of who done it, and the little twists that I never saw coming made this yet another thrilling read from Carolyn Arnold." Ebook Addicts UK

Released today!!
Amazon - http://getbook.at/shades-of-justice
Barnes and Noble - https://bit.ly/2H3y9M2
Apple Books - https://apple.co/2Ww9iWK
Kobo - https://bit.ly/2Jnybjm
GPlay - https://bit.ly/2PQ9b5C

Detective Madison Knight has risked her badge—and her life—in the pursuit of justice before, and she just might need to do so again. Two victims are found murdered and naked in the home of Steven Malone, who is the largest contributor to the Stiles PD. One victim is his wife. The other victim is a John Doe. This high-profile double homicide immediately pits Madison against her sergeant, who seems more intent on protecting the Malones’ reputation and retaining a benefactor than catching a killer.

Madison will need to pull on her tenacity and courage if she’s going to follow the evidence without prejudice. In the process, it becomes clear that finding justice isn’t always black and white, and often the shades in between tell the fullest story—and it’s not something she will forget anytime soon.

Shades of Justice is a murder mystery with twists and turns that will have readers flipping the pages until the wee hours of the morning. The ninth installment in an international bestselling series, it doesn’t matter if this is the first book you’re reading in the Detective Madison Knight series or not; all the books stand alone! 

Buy this book now and join the investigation! Uncover clues, follow leads, and catch a killer like hundreds of thousands of readers in this series have done before you. Perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michael Connelly, and JD Robb. 

Read more on the #book, series, and author here...
https://beckvalleybooks.blogspot.com/2019/03/shades-of-justice-detective-madison.html

 

 
Source: beckvalleybooks.blogspot.com/2019/03/shades-of-justice-detective-madison.html
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?