logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls - Claire Legrand
The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls
by: (author)
3.98 210
At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her... show more
At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster--lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)But then Lawrence goes missing. And he's not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out . . . different. Or they don't come out at all.If anyone can sort this out, it's Victoria--even if it means getting a little messy.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781442442917 (1442442913)
ASIN: 1442442913
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages no: 352
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Not Quite Home
Not Quite Home rated it
3.0 The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls
I found my mind wandering at times, but I do have to say, it was a creepy read, and younger horror fans will likely enjoy this from start to finish.
Paperback Castles
Paperback Castles rated it
4.0
This is a surprisingly creepy and disturbing tale of bugs, dark hallways and marionette dolls. It is a tale of mystery, deception, false appearances and sneaking suspicions. "The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls" is not a perfect story; but it is a story of perfection, and how we are defined by our...
Miss Clark
Miss Clark rated it
I hate it when GR eats my review. You spend forever typing it and it actually expresses what you were thinking pretty darn well and then GONE. Forever. So, now you get this.2.5 - 3 starsI almost needed to create a new shelf for this one: Creepy books you should not read before bed.I liked Victoria a...
Ania's books
Ania's books rated it
4.0 The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls
Great book! It really gave me the creeps :) Not all books for children can be read by adults but this one is a nice read for any age. Well ok, maybe not for any. I wouldn't like to come across it as a child actually. I wouldn't be able to sleep at night! :) But I do recommend it - it's mysterious, s...
A Sea of Stars
A Sea of Stars rated it
3.0
I don't think I've read a more creepy MG book in my life. Nothing nightmare inducing, certainly, but there were shivers. I loved Victoria. She reminded me a bit of myself, what with her absolute horror at receiving a "B" on an assignment. That ending was cruel though. Just cruel.
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?