logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Descent - Jeff Long
The Descent
by: (author)
3.50 10
Hell exists.In Tibet, while guiding trekkers to a holy mountain, Ike Crockett discovers a bottomless cave. When his lover disappears, Ike pursues her into the depths of the earth....In a leper colony bordering the Kalahari Desert, a nun and linguist named Ali von Schade unearths evidence of a... show more
Hell exists.In Tibet, while guiding trekkers to a holy mountain, Ike Crockett discovers a bottomless cave. When his lover disappears, Ike pursues her into the depths of the earth....In a leper colony bordering the Kalahari Desert, a nun and linguist named Ali von Schade unearths evidence of a proto-human species and a deity called Older-than-Old....In Bosnia, Major Elias Branch crash-lands his gunship near a mass grave and is swarmed by pale cannibals terrified of light....So begins mankind's realization that the underworld is a vast geological labyrinth riddling the continents and seabeds, one inhabited by brutish creatures who resemble the devils and gargoyles of legend. With all of Hell's precious resources and territories to be won, a global race ensues. Nations, armies, religions, and industries rush to colonize and exploit the subterranean frontier.A scientific expedition is launched westward to explore beneath the Pacific Ocean floor, both to catalog the riches there and to learn how life could develop in the sunless abyss. Is there a natural explanation, as the scientists hope? Or is there a true supernatural basis? Are the "demons" part of our evolutionary family tree? Is their enigmatic leader merely a freak genius, or could he be the legendary Satan?Fathom by fathom, Ike guides the expedition--and Ali--deeper into the deadly stone wilderness. In the dark underground, as humanity falls away from them, the scientists and mercenaries find themselves prey not only to the savage creatures, but to their own treachery, mutiny, and greed. Meanwhile, on the surface, a band of aged scholars scours archaeological digs, museums, artifacts, and rare texts for clues to Satan's existence. Is he lurking in wait for the expedition, or is he roaming the earth? Or is he dead? One thing is certain: Miles inside the earth, evil is very much alive.In the tradition of Jules Verne and H. G. Wells, The Descent is an epic adventure through fantastic landscapes, among creatures for whom man is both god and meat. It is a horrifying mystery penetrating the realms of faith and reason, a raw and original questioning of the divine and the demonic. And finally, The Descent is the story of a man and woman who enter the maze of the underworld and find at its center the human heart.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780609602935 (0609602934)
Publisher: Crown
Pages no: 464
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Lisa (Harmony)
Lisa (Harmony) rated it
1.0 The Descent
I wasn't twenty pages in before I suspected I had a stinker on my hands: The dialogue, the characterizations, the plotline was of trainwreck dimensions. We open with too-stupid-to-live mountaineers in Tibet, led by Ike Crockett, following a gold coin trail to hell--literally. Next we turn to the Kal...
veeral
veeral rated it
Last month I watched two movies with my wife. 'Sanctum' and 'The Descent' (which has no relation with this book). Sure, the casting and dialogues left a lot to be desired, but in retrospection it dawned on me that it didn’t really matter in the end as the real Hero-antagonist of these movies was The...
rameau's ramblings
rameau's ramblings rated it
3.0 The Descent
For a book that long very little actually happened in Jeff Long's Descend. It had a slow start that reminded me of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and just like with Larsson's text, the story didn't really take flight until after the hundred page mark. Then I was devouring the pages as fast as I cou...
11811
11811 rated it
2.0 The Descent
This could have and should have been a five star novel. The premise alone would have been explosive in the hands of a Stephen King or Clive Barker. Instead, already five hundred pages into it, I found it to be a chore to complete. I wish I just set it down and walked away.
Books Read, Not Necessarily Well
Books Read, Not Necessarily Well rated it
3.0 The Descent
Why do movies get it wrong? I just don't know Virginia.I believe they based the movie off of this...or one of the several dozen movies released in the past few years dealing with an intrepid group of explorers getting stuck underground with subhuman cannibal mutants anyway.OK, twist ending aside, th...
Other editions (12)
Books by Jeff Long
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?