logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Perks of Being a Wallflower - Stephen Chbosky
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
by: (author)
A feature film in 2012 starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Paul Rudd and written and directed by the author—the provocative and poignant “coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace” (USA TODAY) that has affected an entire generation of young... show more
A feature film in 2012 starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Paul Rudd and written and directed by the author—the provocative and poignant “coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace” (USA TODAY) that has affected an entire generation of young people.Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic.      The Perks of Being a Wallflower is the story of what it’s like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie’s letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives or to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music—when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive.     Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.
show less
Format: kindle
ASIN: B003TSEEDY
Publisher: MTV Books
Pages no: 221
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Yodamom Finds her Force
Yodamom Finds her Force rated it
0.0 Not For Me
Audiobook I dropped this at 50%. It was just okay for me, I couldn't relate the the characters and disliked the format. The narrator was fantastic
The Bent Bookworm
The Bent Bookworm rated it
4.0 The Perks of Being a Wallflower
This is one of the few times I've seen the movie before reading the book. Overall it was a great book with an honest look at a teenager's struggle with abuse, depression, and anxiety. Some parts were painfully relatable to. Other parts disturbed me because of the casualness with which underage drink...
The Primroses Were Over
The Primroses Were Over rated it
4.0 The Perks of Being a Wallflower
‘‘Charlie, we accept the love we think we deserve.’’ This was a rough read in quite a few ways, but I really enjoyed it. It deals with quite a few taboo (at least in YA) subjects, but it does so carefully and realistically. Charlie is certainly not a common teenager, but he reads as a teenager ...
Haidji - Books...and...Books!
Haidji - Books...and...Books! rated it
4.0 Heartbreaking
Almost everything that can go wrong in someone's life does in Charlie's.This book made me cry.It is touching and heartbreaking.
Book Thoughts
Book Thoughts rated it
3.0 Review of The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
I had to read this book for school as a part of the summer book reading program at my high school. I have to run a group discussion for it tomorrow with a group of 15 students - none of whom I have met. The story itself was up and down for me. I liked the main character as I felt like he was this...
Other editions (39)
Books by Stephen Chbosky
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?