logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Perks of Being a Wallflower - Stephen Chbosky
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
by: (author)
A feature film in 2012 starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Paul Rudd and written and directed by the author—the provocative and poignant “coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace” (USA TODAY) that has affected an entire generation of young... show more
A feature film in 2012 starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Paul Rudd and written and directed by the author—the provocative and poignant “coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace” (USA TODAY) that has affected an entire generation of young people.Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic.      The Perks of Being a Wallflower is the story of what it’s like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie’s letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives or to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music—when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive.     Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.
show less
Format: kindle
ASIN: B003TSEEDY
Publisher: MTV Books
Pages no: 221
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
XOX
XOX rated it
5.0 About growing up....
Charlie is 15 yr old and is having a hard time in school because he has some emotional problems that led him to be hospitalized when he was young. His best friend Patrick and Sam are older than him studying in the same school. The book is being narrated as a series of letters written to a frie...
Tickets To Paradise
Tickets To Paradise rated it
5.0 The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Not really immensely interested into the young-adult genre of books, but for some reason this book's beautiful movie cover has caught my attention and has convinced me to give it a chance for a honest review. Got to say that I was pleasantly surprised by its story and that I have learned quite a lot...
I Live in Many Worlds
I Live in Many Worlds rated it
4.0 The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
It's been such a difficult time this year when it comes to reading. So many things have gotten in the way of what I had planned but that's okay. I'm still reading and I'm reading good books on top of that! The Perks of Being a Wallflower is no exception! I thoroughly enjoyed this book, even though i...
Kristina Reads
Kristina Reads rated it
5.0 Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
The Perks of Being a Wallflower is an amazing coming-of-age story. It follows a young boy named Charlie going into high school. He meets a group of seniors, and they quickly become close. The story overall is raw and is written entirely in letters addressed to "friend". I give it a rating of 5...
Yodamom Finds her Force
Yodamom Finds her Force rated it
0.0 Not For Me
Audiobook I dropped this at 50%. It was just okay for me, I couldn't relate the the characters and disliked the format. The narrator was fantastic
Other editions (39)
Books by Stephen Chbosky
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?