logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Secret Life of Bees - Sue Monk Kidd
The Secret Life of Bees
by: (author)
2.92 60
A beautiful slipcased special edition commemorating the 10th anniversary of Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina and a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller as well as a Good Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick Fans... show more
A beautiful slipcased special edition commemorating the 10th anniversary of Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina and a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller as well as a Good Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick Fans of Kathryn Stockett’sThe Help and Beth Hoffman’s Saving CeeCee Honeycutt will love Sue Monk Kidd’s Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love.  To celebrate the tenth anniversary of the book’s debut, Penguin presents a beautiful special edition of this wonderful novel, including a new introduction by the author—a gorgeous book that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780143120261 (0143120263)
Publisher: Penguin
Pages no: 336
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Angel's Book Reviews 2.0
Angel's Book Reviews 2.0 rated it
3.0 The Secret Life of Bees
74. THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES, BY SUE MONK KIDDRecommended by Michelle, my most prolific recommender! I’ll probably spend a while reading the books she recommended. At least so far I’ve been enjoying them, so I’d recommend her recommendations…Synopsis: Lily Owens is a 14 year old girl who has lived he...
Lost Girls Reviews
Lost Girls Reviews rated it
4.0 The Secret Life of Bees
This story begins on a peach farm in the American South back in 1964. Lily is a 14 year old girl who was left living with her abusive father after her mother died when Lily was merely 4 years old under circumstances that she feels responsible for. Lily has only a small box with some personal items b...
Sarah's Library
Sarah's Library rated it
3.5 The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
6/6 - I enjoyed this, but can't really give any specific reasons for that enjoyment. It was a mostly sweet story of a 14-year-old girl who never felt like she fit in anywhere, until she ran away from home and found herself on the doorstep of three offbeat sisters. I felt the need for physical violen...
Bücherchaos
Bücherchaos rated it
0.0 Die Bienenhüterin
Ich habe das Buch auf Seite 166 abgebrochen.Ich weiß nicht aber irgendwie hatte ich das Gefühl ich komm bei der Geschichte nicht vorran.Die Charakter sind toll beschrieben das man sie sich vorstellen kann.Das Buch handelt auch um das Thema Bienen und in der Zeit in dem dieses Blöde Schwarz Weiß Gela...
Muriellerites
Muriellerites rated it
5.0
Sue Monk Kidd has written a touching, coming of age story set in a newly segregated South Carolina in the sixties. Orphaned at age four, Lily Owens lives with a harsh and neglectful father whose form of punishment, beside the usual backhander, is to force her to kneel on hard grits for hours at a ti...
Other editions (45)
Books by Sue Monk Kidd
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?