logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Witchfinder's Sister - Beth Underdown
The Witchfinder's Sister
by: (author)
3.50 10
A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by “Witchfinder General” Matthew Hopkins—for readers of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe. Before Salem, there was Manningtree. . . . “This summer, my brother Matthew set himself... show more
A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by “Witchfinder General” Matthew Hopkins—for readers of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe. Before Salem, there was Manningtree. . . . “This summer, my brother Matthew set himself to killing women, but without ever once breaking the law.” Essex, England, 1645. With a heavy heart, Alice Hopkins returns to the small town she grew up in. Widowed, with child, and without prospects, she is forced to find refuge at the house of her younger brother, Matthew. In the five years she has been gone, the boy she knew has become a man of influence and wealth—but more has changed than merely his fortunes. Alice fears that even as the cruel burns of a childhood accident still mark his face, something terrible has scarred Matthew’s soul.   There is a new darkness in the town, too—frightened whispers are stirring in the streets, and Alice’s blood runs cold with dread when she discovers that Matthew is a ruthless hunter of suspected witches. Torn between devotion to her brother and horror at what he’s become, Alice is desperate to intervene—and deathly afraid of the consequences. But as Matthew’s reign of terror spreads, Alice must choose between her safety and her soul. Alone and surrounded by suspicious eyes, Alice seeks out the fuel firing her brother’s brutal mission—and is drawn into the Hopkins family’s past. There she finds secrets nested within secrets: and at their heart, the poisonous truth. Only by putting her own life and liberty in peril can she defeat this darkest of evils—before more innocent women are forced to the gallows. Inspired by the real-life story of notorious “Witchfinder General” Matthew Hopkins, Beth Underdown’s thrilling debut novel blends spellbinding history with harrowing storytelling for a truly haunting reading experience.Advance praise for The Witchfinder’s Sister “Vivid and terrifying.”—Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train “Beth Underdown conjures a mesmerizing tale. The Witchfinder’s Sister will draw you into the terrifying world of England’s witch hunts. Read it late into the night, but don’t expect to sleep afterward!”—Paula Brackston, New York Times bestselling author of The Witch’s Daughter “Gripping . . . The Witchfinder’s Sister gives a long-forgotten historical tragedy a fresh, feminist spin. Beth Underdown, by providing us with this intelligent, sympathetic protagonist, allows us to see inside the hearts of both monster and victims while never letting us forget that throughout history women’s stories have too often been told by men.”—Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue “A tense, surprising, and elegantly crafted novel.”—Ian McGuire, New York Times bestselling author of The North Water “Bone-chilling and meticulously researched, The Witchfinder’s Sister brings home the true terror of a witch hunt.”—Mary Sharratt, award-winning author of Daughters of the Witching Hill “A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel.”—Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780399179143 (0399179143)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Pages no: 336
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Blah, Blah, Blah, Book Blog
Blah, Blah, Blah, Book Blog rated it
3.5 The Witchfinder's Sister
In case you've noticed, I'm a little behind on my reviews. Not because I haven't been reading, just that if it's a choice between reading and posting, I usually choose reading. Which puts me on track for my reading year, but regretfully behind here. So enough about that, let's pretend it's the end...
Scarlet's Web
Scarlet's Web rated it
2.0 Review: The Witchfinder's Sister by Beth Underdown
I would like to thank Penguin Books for providing me with an advanced reading copy of this book. The Witch Finder's Sister is a fictional tale based on the life of Matthew Hopkins - a witch hunter believed to have been responsible for the deaths of 300 women between the years 1644 and 1646. The st...
debbiekrenzer
debbiekrenzer rated it
This read very slow for me. There were times when I really wanted to put the book down. And I want to kick myself for feeling like that because this was a horrible event in history. I should feel bad for thinking this. However, this is how I felt.The story did pick up some and while it was grueling ...
Summer Reading Project, BookLikes Satellite
Summer Reading Project, BookLikes Satellite rated it
3.0 The Witchfinder's Sister, by Beth Underdown
Between 1644 and 1647, Matthew Hopkins traveled through rural East Anglia killing hundreds of people. We don’t see him on the lists of history’s most prolific serial killers because his killings were officially sanctioned and quite legal. Hopkins was a witch-finder; he would be called into a town or...
The Flutterby Room
The Flutterby Room rated it
4.0
THE WITCHFINDER’S SISTER is Beth Underdown’s debut novel. The story is set in England in the seventeenth century, and follows the story of Alice Hopkins. In 1645 Alice is forced to return from London to the small Essex town of Manningtree to her brother Matthew’s house, after the death of her husban...
Other editions (4)
Books by Beth Underdown
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?