logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Things in Jars - Jess Kidd
Things in Jars
by: (author)
4.00 5
In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery—perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of... show more
In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery—perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.

Bridie Devine—female detective extraordinaire—is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery.

Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won’t rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she’d rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems.

Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781982121280
Publisher: Atria Books
Pages no: 384
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
A Man With An Agenda
A Man With An Agenda rated it
4.0 Things in Jars by Jess Kidd
Serial/Spree Killer Square: Bridie Devine, in looking for an abducted child uncovers a world of medical curiosities, myths come to life, and a lot of dead bodies. This was a fun book to read but, for me, a slow starter. The rich writing kept me going. Bridie Devine is an independent woman in the V...
Joelle's Bibliofile
Joelle's Bibliofile rated it
3.5 Interesting New Detective Heroine
Jess Kidd introduces readers to a fascinating new fictional heroine, Bridie Devine, her primary character in her latest offering Things in Jars. This novel, by the author of Himself and Mr. Flood’s Last Resort, is a chimera of historical mystery and fantasy, with a pinch of romance added as well. B...
fromfirstpagetolast
fromfirstpagetolast rated it
5.0 It is a marvellous thing, this Things in Jars.
Bridie Devine is recovering from a failure. She couldn’t complete her last case as a private detective so grabs the opportunity to track down kidnapped Christabel Berwick. But as she looks deeper into the case it would appear that Christabel, and the people around her, are not as they seem. Someti...
Other editions (2)
Books by Jess Kidd
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?