logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Truly Devious - Maureen Johnson
Truly Devious
by: (author)
3.17 15
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and... show more
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.
show less
Format: ebook
ISBN: 9780062338075
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages no: 416
Edition language: English
Series: Truly Devious (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
christina's book corner
christina's book corner rated it
5.0 Book Review: Truly Devious Maureen Johnson
October 1-26Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “wh...
Ani's Book Abyss
Ani's Book Abyss rated it
3.5 Thoughts: Truly Devious
Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson Book 1 of Truly Devious Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twist...
Just One More Chapter
Just One More Chapter rated it
5.0 Truly Devious
I am a well...no, scratch that... I am an ocean of adoration, confusion, and affectionate Feels for this book!! I have to admit that I am quite behind on my ARC reviews BUT I felt like I needed to take some time to read some of the other lovelies on my radar that are not on my early review pile. N...
Blood Rose Books
Blood Rose Books rated it
3.5 Maureen Johnson: Truly Devious
In the first of a new series, Maureen Johnson takes readers to an elite school that is shrouded in myth, mystery and murder: In Vermont there is a school for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists; Ellingham Academy. Not only is the school for the brightest but the grounds and buildings we...
Kaethe
Kaethe rated it
5.0 Truly Devious for Baker Street Irregulars
This is weird and why I consider my own ratings to be bunk: In June I picked this up read the first chapter and abandoned it. Just wasn't what I felt like reading. But it was on the list for Baker Street Irregulars, and I usually like Johnson, so...and I made it to the second chapter and then I was ...
Other editions (2)
Books by Maureen Johnson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?