logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Will Weaver
Will Weaver grew up in northern Minnesota on a farm. The landscape of small town life figures strongly in much of his writing. He has gained a national audience for his unflinching realism, and for what one reviewer called ". . . the humanity and decency that runs through all of Weaver's work" (... show more

Will Weaver grew up in northern Minnesota on a farm. The landscape of small town life figures strongly in much of his writing. He has gained a national audience for his unflinching realism, and for what one reviewer called ". . . the humanity and decency that runs through all of Weaver's work" ( St. Paul Pioneer Press). His short story collection A GRAVESTONE MADE OF WHEAT was a New York Times "notable book." His books have been adapted for radio, stage and film. SWEET LAND, the feature film adaptation of his story "Gravestone Made of Wheat", starring Ned Beatty, premiered in October of 2006. SWEET LAND is also the title of his collection of short stories, which includes the film-inspiring story. A recent new direction is a memoir, THE LAST HUNTER: AN AMERICAN FAMILY ALBUM, a closely described look at the arc of his family from tiny, immigrant homestead farm in North Dakota to post-modern America.Weaver is also known for his young adult fiction. MEMORY BOY, a post-apocalyptic novel based on environmental collapse, is widely used in junior and senior high schools across the United States. THE SURVIVORS, just out from HarperCollins, is the long-awaited sequel, and received a "Starred" review from Kirkus. Other young adult novels include CLAWS, set in northeastern Minnesota's Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and featuring outdoor survival with a strong family back-story. FULL SERVICE won starred reviews from Kirkus and Horn Books for its focus on a young man struggling with matters of religious faith and doubt. DEFECT is a novel about a teenager born with a miraculous birth abnormality, and his struggle to fit in (or not). His STRIKING OUT, FARM TEAM and HARD BALL baseball series for young adults has a lasting place in school libraries across the country. As an author, Mr. Weaver is particularly concerned with youth literacy, and young men in particular. His Motornovel Series includes SATURDAY NIGHT DIRT and its sequel, SUPER STOCK ROOKIE (2009), which focus on dirt track stock car racing. The series starts with a small town speedway and a diverse cast characters who come there, for different reasons, every Saturday night. CHECKERED FLAG CHEATER is the third in this popular series. Reviewed on "Good Morning America," the Motornovels were described as "great teen reads, and not just for boys."An avid outdoorsman and popular public speaker, Will Weaver lives with his wife on the Mississippi River in northern Minnesota.
show less
Will Weaver's Books
Recently added on shelves
Will Weaver's readers
Share this Author
Community Reviews
Blogging Between the Lines
Blogging Between the Lines rated it 4 years ago
Poor storytelling, too much message-sending, bland characters, unbelievable and predictable settings and situations, unreadable short stories that no teen will find appealing. Sorry, I did not enjoy this at all and I don't think teens will either.
pamelaokramer
pamelaokramer rated it 8 years ago
Memory Boy by Will Weaver is the perfect book for any lover of survival stories. Readers who enjoyed Paulsen's Hatchet, Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick or Ashfall by Mike Mullin will fall under the spell of Miles Newell as he leads his family on a journey fraught with danger.It's two years after a volcanic er...
lizpatanders
lizpatanders rated it 10 years ago
This is a collection of short stories for young adults about students who don't fit in at their high schools. It deals with the issues of violence and bullying and the impact of these things on the individual and the community. I think this book could be very significant for young readers because a...
Flying Kick-a-pow!
Flying Kick-a-pow! rated it 11 years ago
it was better than i thought it was going to be; in fact, i got strangely addicted to it... the story is fairly simple, the characters are likable. towards the end it got kinda predictable and cliché, but it was pretty good.
Peace, Love & Books
Peace, Love & Books rated it 12 years ago
Superb story of two outcasts finding acceptance in one another.
see community reviews
Need help?