logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
A Countess Below Stairs - Eva Ibbotson
A Countess Below Stairs
by: (author)
3.84 280
After the russian revolution turns her world topsy-turvy, Anna, a young russian countess, has no choice but to flee to england. penniless, Anna hides her aristocratic background and takes a job as servant in the household of the esteemed westerholme family, armed only with an outdated... show more
After the russian revolution turns her world topsy-turvy, Anna, a young russian countess, has no choice but to flee to england. penniless, Anna hides her aristocratic background and takes a job as servant in the household of the esteemed westerholme family, armed only with an outdated housekeeping manual and sheer determination. Desperate to keep her past a secret, Anna is nearly overwhelmed by her new duties—not to mention her instant attraction to rupert, the handsome earl of westerholme. to make matters worse, rupert appears to be falling for her as well. As their attraction grows stronger, Anna finds it more and more difficult to keep her most dearly held secrets from unraveling. And then there’s the small matter of rupert’s beautiful and nasty fiancée. . . .
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780142408650 (0142408654)
ASIN: 142408654
Publisher: Speak
Pages no: 383
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Rane Aria
Rane Aria rated it
5.0 The Secret Countess
Nothing is more depressing then the dreaded "Reader Slump" that not even your favorite authors can pull you out of. That was me, just floating along after reading back to back amazing books, everything just sorta fell flat for me. That is by chance I stumbled on A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbots...
And the Kitchen Sink
And the Kitchen Sink rated it
5.0
A beautiful fairy tale like book, charming from beginning to end. Everything, from the language to the exaggerated villains (at one point there was even dog-kicking! So over the top!) to the essential goodness of the main characters it read exactly as a modern Grimm might. I loved it and ate up ever...
Wyvernfriend Reads
Wyvernfriend Reads rated it
4.0 A Countess Below Stairs
I really enjoyed this read, granted Anna Grazinsky came across as being a bit too perfect a lot of the time but still I found it great fun. I was drawn into this story of trying to succeed when it was all stacked against you. Countess Anna Grazinsky fled Russia after the revolution and lives with h...
vysed
vysed rated it
Apart from the very bad Russian accent that Anna was stuck with, in my head, I really loved her. A refreshing take on a common plot, and a female lead that I truly enjoyed.
Kaethe
Kaethe rated it
Ignore the cover which is sadly generic. Fans of A Little Princess, Ballet Shoes, and Downton Abbey are all likely to love this.Anna is charming, full of life, hard-working, and so marvelously kind to everyone, that I have fallen in love with her myself. Generally speaking, a romance is focused on t...
Other editions (13)
Books by Eva Ibbotson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?