logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
A Short History of the Girl Next Door - Jared Reck
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
by: (author)
4.00 20
Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews.   Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then all of a sudden, one day, it’s different? You see that... show more
Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews.   Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then all of a sudden, one day, it’s different? You see that goofy grin a thousand times and just laugh. But goofy grin #1,001 nearly stops your heart?   Right. That sounds like a bad movie already.   Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can’t tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her, he implodes on the JV basketball team, and the only place he feels normal is in Mr. Ellis’s English class, discussing the greatest fart scenes in literature and writing poems about pissed-off candy-cane lumberjacks.   If this were a movie, everything would work out perfectly. Tabby would discover that Matt’s madly in love with her, be overcome with emotion, and would fall into his arms. Maybe in the rain.   But that’s not how it works. Matt watches Tabby get swept away by senior basketball star and all-around great guy Liam Branson. Losing Tabby to Branson is bad enough, but screwing up and losing her as a friend is even worse.   After a tragic accident, Matt finds himself left on the sidelines, on the verge of spiraling out of control and losing everything that matters to him. From debut author Jared Reck comes a fiercely funny and heart-wrenching novel about love, longing, and what happens when life as you know it changes in an instant.“This story broke my heart and made me laugh and gave me hope—and really, what more can you ask of a book than that? I loved it, and I have a feeling you will too.” —Jennifer E. Smith, author of Windfall and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight“In the blink of an eye, A Short History of the Girl Next Door goes from hilarious to haunting to harrowing to heartbreaking to hopeful and back. You’ll never be sure exactly what kind of tears you’re crying. The riotously funny and achingly authentic voice of this gorgeous coming-of-age story will break your heart, but have no fear: it will piece it back together with the glue of love, hope, and humor, and it will be stronger than before.” —Jeff Zentner, award-winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days   “A Short History of the Girl Next Door is a study in paradoxes. It’s laced with both sarcasm and yearning; it’s spit-out-your-drink funny and empty-the-tissue-box sad. Sharp, smart, and unforgettable, this book will make you want to drive down the court, basketball thudding from your hand, both glad and heartbroken to be alive.” —Kate Hattemer, critically acclaimed author of The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy and The Land of 10,000 Madonnas"A powerful novel about first love, the intimacy of childhood friendships, and moving forward from loss, after unexpected tragedy strikes. Reck’s novel is sure to provoke reflection about finding meaning amid life’s unforeseeable tragedies."—Publishers Weekly"Pair this with other novels that explore loss from a male perspective, such as Jeff Zetner’s Goodbye Days or Adam Silvera’s History is All You Left Me."—Booklist
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9781524716073 (1524716073)
ASIN: 1524716073
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages no: 272
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
carolesrandomlife
carolesrandomlife rated it
4.0 A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck
This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.This book really got to me. I mean there were tears with this one. Real tears! I almost never shed tears over books but this one got through my shield. I didn't really know a lot about this book going in. I saw the book offered on Bloggi...
the dilemma of reading
the dilemma of reading rated it
4.0 A Short History of the Girl Next Door/Jared Reck
This book is worth reading, so go read it, but stop reading reviews because they'll probably spoil something. Don't read the description; it'll spoil something. (Those author comparisons… come on, whoever did jacket copy!) If you like YA, go read it. Okay, that being said, now I will talk about th...
Books by Jared Reck
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?