logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Anna and the Swallow Man - Gavriel Savit
Anna and the Swallow Man
by: (author)
3.43 35
A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief.   Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her... show more
A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief.   Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.    Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit’s stunning debut reveals life’s hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780553513349 (0553513346)
ASIN: 0553513346
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages no: 240
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
YA Fanatic
YA Fanatic rated it
2.0 Anna and the Swallow Man Book Review
I dunno, this is just not my kind of book. I read it and gave up on it a few months ago then I decided to do it on audio and I did finish it I just don't like the storyline. I found the plot very strange and am still not sure what the point of the book is. Its one of those books that may be well w...
Thewanderingjew
Thewanderingjew rated it
5.0 A Unique way to present the horrors of the Holocaust to all ages!
This is the loveliest story about the most unlovely subject. Why is this book designated for grades seven and up? The message is more profound than what is perceived initially on its surface. This is a tale about evil that is witnessed through the eyes of a child and is far more accurately seen in t...
Rashika, The Book Owl
Rashika, The Book Owl rated it
4.0 heartbreaking
***This review has also been posted on The Social Potato I don’t read a lot of historical fiction but I absolutely adore middle grade novels so when I heard about Anna and the Swallow Man, I knew I was going to have a lot of feels and would probably need a lot of tissues. The book; however, turned o...
Other editions (2)
Books by Gavriel Savit
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?