logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Annie John - Jamaica Kincaid
Annie John
by: (author)
3.36 90
Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss... show more
Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl’s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother’s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, “It was in such a paradise that I lived.” When she turns twelve, however, Annie’s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a “young lady,” ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. “For I could not be sure,” she reflects, “whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780374525101 (0374525102)
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages no: 148
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Rowena's Reviews
Rowena's Reviews rated it
4.0 Annie John
Annie John is the coming-of-age story of a 10 year old Antiguan girl. It’s a quick read; the thoughts of a very curious young girl obsessed with death and slowly taking in all the nuances that surround her, who becomes a highly intelligent adolescent who is uninterested in most things. Annie is very...
Merle
Merle rated it
This book gets points for a polished, literary writing style, but it is just so short, and most of it summarized. Its eight chapters could almost work as short stories, and Kincaid’s style often involves paragraphs that go on for a page or more, with few dramatized scenes.This book is a coming-of-ag...
Welcome to my blog!
Welcome to my blog! rated it
3.0
For realism this was really good! It read like a kind of autobiography, and it had an autobiographical charm. It described all the ins and outs of reality and contradictions and it was just very human. Not lively, exaggerated, or cartoon-y material! Very subdued, like real life.
janeg
janeg rated it
The prose is very pretty but the narrative does not speak to me.
Other editions (13)
Books by Jamaica Kincaid
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?