logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Behold the Dreamers - Imbolo Mbue
Behold the Dreamers
by: (author)
3.75 30
For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in... show more
For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream.Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has co
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780812998481 (0812998480)
ASIN: 812998480
Pages no: 400
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Nothing better than a good book...
Nothing better than a good book... rated it
3.0 Behold the Dreamers
Author: Imbolo Mbue Rating: 3 stars Not bad. Contrasting the main characters' immigration issues with the fall of Lehman Brothers was interesting. Watching the couple fight so hard to stay in America while the economy crashed and their Wall Street employers became disillusioned... it was a solid...
Thewanderingjew
Thewanderingjew rated it
4.0 An excellent description of the plight of the immigrant!
Behold the Dreamers, Imbolo Mbue, author; Prentice Onayemi, narratorTo Jende Jonga, from Cameroon, America was truly the land of opportunity. In Limbe, where he was born, it was beautiful and the people were always smiling and friendly. However, there, it was impossible to improve one’s circumstance...
Just Olga and her books
Just Olga and her books rated it
4.0 Beautifully written story of a lost in translation version of the American Dream
Thanks to NetGalley and to Harper Collings UK, 4th State for offering me an ARC copy of this book that I voluntarily review. This novel, written by an author hailing from Cameroon, like her characters, tells us the story of the Jongas, a family of emigrants trying to make a go of life in the USA, mo...
Fiction Fantastic
Fiction Fantastic rated it
3.0 Behold the Dreamers
To be honest, this wasn't the best or most exciting read ever, and I found myself finding other things to do instead of reading this, but on the other hand it was strangely compelling... possibly due to it's current relevance? The writing is very immersing, so when I did actually make time to read i...
Other editions (1)
Books by Imbolo Mbue
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?