logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Black Orchid - Dave McKean, Neil Gaiman
Black Orchid
by: (author) (illustrator)
3.69 195
In the tradition of Alan Moore's Swamp Thing, Gaiman and McKean's first comics collaboration reimagines the character of Black Orchid in a lushly painted story of identity and betrayal. Collects Black Orchid 1-3
In the tradition of Alan Moore's Swamp Thing, Gaiman and McKean's first comics collaboration reimagines the character of Black Orchid in a lushly painted story of identity and betrayal.
Collects Black Orchid 1-3
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780930289553 (0930289552)
Publisher: Vertigo
Pages no: 160
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Folding Paper & Spilling Ink
Folding Paper & Spilling Ink rated it
3.0 Black Orchid: Or an anti-violent superhero comic
I'm really uncertain how I feel about this book. On one hand the art is phenomenal - Dave McKean has created a beautiful book. Every page is full of color, emotion, and a softness which blankets even the grimmest details. Even the layout of the panels is excellent. It truly is stunning. On the other...
Krycek
Krycek rated it
0.0 Stuff I've been reading: an update.
I figure it's about time to crawl out of my hole and do a little posting. As I mentioned last time, I am behind in my reviewing responsibilities (heh, "responsibilities"), so here is an update on what I've read recently. There's actually more, but the other things I've been reading are non-fiction h...
I Live in Many Worlds
I Live in Many Worlds rated it
3.0 Black Orchid by Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean
To be perfectly honest, I couldn't finish this book. I tried but it just couldn't hold my interest. The art is beautiful and the message Gaiman is trying to get across to all comic fans is wonderful. However, I feel as if the tone is too dry for my liking so I am going to have to give this one a pas...
Konnici na Liriite - Chevalier Du Lys
Konnici na Liriite - Chevalier Du Lys rated it
2.0 Black Orchid
No doubt that the art is stunning and makes you feel as though you're in a dream, but the story to me was a let down. I didn't enjoy that much. Nevertheless it was good to see a comic superhero turned into a psycological adventure instead of the usual action. Quite good. It was nice to see Lex Lutho...
Musings of a Bibliophile
Musings of a Bibliophile rated it
5.0 Black Orchid
Hands down the most beautiful comic/graphic book I have ever read. The artwork is stunning, and the story is complimentary to it. There are a few familiar characters (Poison Ivy, Swamp Thing, Lex Luthor, Batman etc) but it's is Black Orchid who makes it really worth reading. Though to be honest, the...
Other editions (9)
Books by Neil Gaiman
Books by Dave McKean
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?