logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard - Liz Murray
Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard
by: (author)
4.13 75
In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard. Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and... show more
In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard. Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and lice-infested hair, eventually skipping so many classes that she was put into a girls' home. At age fifteen, Liz found herself on the streets when her family finally unraveled. She learned to scrape by, foraging for food and riding subways all night to have a warm place to sleep. When Liz's mother died of AIDS, she decided to take control of her own destiny and go back to high school, often completing her assignments in the hallways and subway stations where she slept. Liz squeezed four years of high school into two, while homeless; won a New York Times scholarship; and made it into the Ivy League. Breaking Night is an unforgettable and beautifully written story of one young woman's indomitable spirit to survive and prevail, against all odds.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780786868919 (0786868910)
Publisher: Hyperion
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Bookvine
Bookvine rated it
5.0 Breaking Night
This book broke my heart! Not only did it shatter me to read about a 4 year old who sees her parents shooting up drugs in the kitchen on a daily basis, having a mother that would steal her birthday money and squander all the welfare money just to score.What was even more upsetting is that these seem...
trewen
trewen rated it
Audio read by the the authorThis is a jaw-dropping, heart breaking and inspiring memoir.I just don't even know what to say.Wow.
Denise
Denise rated it
5.0 Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard
Liz Murray's life has been far from easy. During her childhood her drug addict parents spent their welfare checks on their next high, and during her teenage years she became homeless shuffling around to different friends' houses or sleeping in hallways. You would think that with all the setbacks in ...
Beauty and the Book
Beauty and the Book rated it
4.0
What an amazing story that truly captures the reader right from the beginning. I've read other memoirs from girls who were homeless at one point and they all have a level of perseverance that is unheard of but Liz takes it to the next level. She reaches out to other people to help them when she can ...
Just a book blog
Just a book blog rated it
5.0 Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard
Liz was brought up by drug addicted parents. They lived in a filthy apartment. Liz, herself, was filthy. She was picked on in school, and began to stay home as a result.Read her story about how she survived and how she got her life turned around and made it into Harvard. Very inspiring.
Other editions (16)
Books by Liz Murray
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?