logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Carve the Mark - Veronica Roth
Carve the Mark
by: (author)
Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape... show more
Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780062348630 (0062348639)
ASIN: 0062348639
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Pages no: 528
Edition language: English
Series: Untitled Duology (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
The Caffeinated Diva reads...
The Caffeinated Diva reads... rated it
2.0 Carve the Mark
I honestly don't know how to feel about this book. I wanted to like it, but I couldn't help but notice the vaguely racist tone to it. And that turned me off the entire story. The story revolves around Akos and Cyra, two people from different tribes. They share a planet, but share no peace. Ako...
YA Fanatic
YA Fanatic rated it
4.0 Carve the Mark Book Review
There seem's to be a lot of hate surrounding this book. But I really enjoyed it. It's definitely very similar to a lot of other dystopians and reminded me a bit of the Red Queen. I'd say, for me it needed more world building. I felt like I forgot a lot that this was taking place in space at times an...
Figgy O'Connell
Figgy O'Connell rated it
2.0 Carve the Mark
Actual Rating 1.5So Veronica Roth, author of Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant, and subsequent short stories in the same universe is back!There is a lot of hype around this book and so many elements that showed potential. Surely, after the success that was Divergent, this would be good quality at the ...
The Reading Perusals of Rose Summers
The Reading Perusals of Rose Summers rated it
1.0 Review: Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth
Long review for a rather long read. I'm still struggling to figure what words are appropriate to describe the mediocrity and utter pointlessness of this book. My thoughts about it aren't as concise as this review will turn out being, because I only have so many words to fit in my review space and I ...
Other editions (2)
Books by Veronica Roth
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?