logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Cover of Snow - Jenny Milchman
Cover of Snow
by: (author)
3.10 100
Jenny Milchman’s Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something... show more
Jenny Milchman’s Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.Unraveling her late husband’s final days, Nora searches for an explanation—but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan’s best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown . . . and its darkest secrets hidden.Praise for Cover of Snow   “Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author.”—Booklist (starred review)   “Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape.”—The New York Times   “Milchman makes [readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller.”—Kirkus Reviews   “Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters.”—The Seattle Times   “The plot unfolds at an excellent clip . . . ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations.”—San Francisco Journal of Books   “Milchman expertly conveys Nora’s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780345534217 (0345534212)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Pages no: 336
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Tammie's Reading Reviews
Tammie's Reading Reviews rated it
3.0 Cover of Snow
Nora Hamilton wakes up one morning and finds her husband dead from an apparent suicide. He was a police officer in the small town they live in and Nora can't help but ask the question of why her husband would take his own life when he had appeared to be happy.I found Cover of Snow compelling even th...
Reading Room
Reading Room rated it
2.0 Cover of Snow
I don't really have anything to add that hasn't been said in another review. And, for those that rated it higher, I wonder if we read the same book. The only thing I'm wondering as I type this is about the quote currently posted at the top of the Goodreads page for this book:"Jenny Milchman’s Cover ...
LitReactor
LitReactor rated it
4.0 Unpr!ntable Podcast Episode 17
Eh-peh-sode Se-ven-teeeen (to be sung to the tune of Seventeen by Winger) kicks off with a ribald discussion of crowd funding and the Two Dollar Radio indiegogo campaign. Seems they're going into the talking picture business. Also, the author of the latest Bond novel says the character doesn't like ...
mtw1tter
mtw1tter rated it
2.0 Cover of Snow: A Novel
The pacing can be a little glacial (not a joke) at times
The Lethal Librarian
The Lethal Librarian rated it
2.0 Cover of Snow
As this books synopsis says…Nora Hamilton wakes up one morning to find her husband missing and feeling drugged, She eventually finds that Brendon has committed suicide. Nora eventually continues with her life as best as she can and when she breaks through her fugue she demands answers. Bu,t who c...
Other editions (9)
Books by Jenny Milchman
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?