logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration - Ed Catmull
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
by: (author)
4.14 55
From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to... show more
From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”   For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.   As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:   • Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better. • If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead. • It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them. • The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them. • A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody. • Do not assume that general agreement will lead to change—it takes substantial energy to move a group, even when all are on board.   Advance praise for Creativity, Inc.   “Many have attempted to formulate and categorize inspiration and creativity. What Ed Catmull shares instead is his astute experience that creativity isn’t strictly a well of ideas, but an alchemy of people. In Creativity, Inc. Ed reveals, with commonsense specificity and honesty, examples of how not to get in your own way and how to realize a creative coalescence of art, business, and innovation.”—George Lucas   “Business gurus love to tell stories about Pixar, but this is our first chance to hear the real story from someone who lived it and led it. Everyone interested in managing innovation—or just good managing—needs to read this book.”—Chip Heath, co-author of Switch and Decisive
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780812993011 (0812993012)
ASIN: 812993012
Pages no: 368
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Mike Mullin, Author
Mike Mullin, Author rated it
4.5 Yep, Creativity Is Hard, Even at Pixar
Pixar's movies seem so perfect, so beautifully affecting, that I've always had the notion that they were birthed complete, like pulling a cut diamond from the crumbly soil of your garden. Not so much. In Creativity, Inc., Catmull explains that all Pixar movies "suck at first." That's not even th...
Girl Interrupted Reading
Girl Interrupted Reading rated it
4.0 Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
I read this for Mark Zuckerberg’s book club, A Year Of Books. I love Pixar movies and I’m a business student grad, so Creativity, Inc was really appealing to me because it tells the history of Pixar and explains how they do business. There is a lot of great advice in the book for companies (mostly c...
Krazykiwi @ Kiwitopia
Krazykiwi @ Kiwitopia rated it
5.0 Creativity Inc. by Ed Catmull
Ed Catmull is, for those who don't recognise the name, one of the founders of Pixar and it's current president. Initially a computer scientist, he was pretty famous within the graphics and comp. sci. community long before he became involved in the film industry. Indeed Pixar itself grew up out of pr...
I am Sam Tule
I am Sam Tule rated it
5.0 Things I've Read: Creativity Inc by Ed Catmull
Memories From Books on Booklikes
Memories From Books on Booklikes rated it
3.0 Part memoir, part management advice
Ed Catmull is one of the founding fathers of Pixar and the current president of Disney and Pixar Animation Studios. This book is partly a memoir about the birth and growth of Pixar and partly his "thoughts for managing a creative culture." Well told, interesting, but you need to put your own filter ...
Other editions (11)
Books by Ed Catmull
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?