logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Deep Creek - Dana Hand
Deep Creek
by: (author)
Idaho Territory, June 1887. A small-town judge takes his young daughter fishing, and she catches a man. Another body surfaces, then another. The final toll: over 30 Chinese gold miners brutally murdered. Their San Francisco employer hires Idaho lawman Joe Vincent to solve the case.Soon he... show more
Idaho Territory, June 1887. A small-town judge takes his young daughter fishing, and she catches a man. Another body surfaces, then another. The final toll: over 30 Chinese gold miners brutally murdered. Their San Francisco employer hires Idaho lawman Joe Vincent to solve the case.Soon he journeys up the wild Snake River with Lee Loi, an ambitious young company investigator, and Grace Sundown, a m├ętis mountain guide with too many secrets. As they track the killers across the Pacific Northwest, through haunted canyons and city streets, each must put aside lies and old grievances to survive a quest that will change them forever.Deep Creek is a historical thriller inspired by actual events and people: the 1887 massacre of Chinese miners in remote and beautiful Hells Canyon, the middle-aged judge who went after their slayers, and the sham race-murder trial that followed. This American tragedy was long suppressed and the victims nearly forgotten; Deep Creek teams history and imagination to illuminate how and why, in a seamless, fast-moving tale of courage and redemption, loss and love. A dazzling new novel for fans of Leif Enger, Lisa See, and Ivan Doig.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780547237480 (0547237480)
ASIN: 547237480
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages no: 320
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Other editions (5)
Books by Dana Hand
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?