logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle - Chris Hedges
Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle
by: (author)
3.05 105
We now live in two Americas. One—now the minority—functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other—the majority—is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority—which crosses... show more
We now live in two Americas. One—now the minority—functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other—the majority—is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority—which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected—presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this “other America,” serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.In the tradition of Christopher Lasch’s The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture—attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies—to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781568584379 (1568584377)
Publisher: Nation Books
Pages no: 240
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
All the World's a Page
All the World's a Page rated it
2.0
One word sum up Hedge's Empire of Illusion: autology. If you've ever wondered what the word is that describes something which describes itself (think: "multisyllabic" or "trochee" or "portmanteau" or "sesquipedalian, etc.), it is autological. In a book which so fervently rails against "spectacle" it...
riley
riley rated it
2.0 Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle
2.5/5 I agree with much of what Hedges has to say (excepting his chapter on Porn, see below) but I don't agree with the way he says it or many of his claims about the "what" that he has identified as destroying the US. Yes, the US is clearly headed for worse times, and this is definitely in part a ...
ayanami
ayanami rated it
This book brings up a lot of good criticisms against capitalist societies but it is certainly not without flaws. Hedges' biases are obvious and he seems to have a grudge against those he calls the "elites", that is, the wealthy and powerful capitalists that his book rails against. I get it, money ta...
Peace, Love & Books
Peace, Love & Books rated it
4.0 Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle
Hedges vents his considerable anger with America's cultural and intellectual decline, and the penchant for most of our fellow citizens to choose the comforts of distraction and delusion over confronting the challenges of reality. I share his disillusionment.
michaelhartford
michaelhartford rated it
4.0 Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle
Chris Hedges’ Empire of Illusion is in part an angry screed, in part a Jeremiad lament, and (in small) part a vision of a better America. With a mixture of raw anger and sharp analysis, he covers a wide range of topics–professional wrestling, brutal pornography, the military-industrial-educational c...
Other editions (7)
Books by Chris Hedges
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?