logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Gilead - Marilynne Robinson
Gilead
by: (author)
3.50 375
Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily... show more
Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780312424404 (031242440X)
ASIN: 031242440X
Publisher: Picador
Pages no: 247
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
EpicFehlReader
EpicFehlReader rated it
3.0 Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (Gilead #1)
Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dic...
Reader! Reader!
Reader! Reader! rated it
2.0 Gilead
Well, that was exhausting. I suppose I can see why this book won a Pulitzer. It is well written, introspective, and very American—in the sense that it describes, very passively, an era and then some in American history. However, it is also very very boring. John Ames, 77, reverend, is dying of h...
Memories From Books on Booklikes
Memories From Books on Booklikes rated it
4.0 Gilead
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson is a dying pastor's epistle for his seven year old son and a philosophical reflection on his own life. I feel like I did not truly understand this book, perhaps not picking up on all the theological references. However, it leaves me thinking and I am engaged enough to wa...
The Archaeology of Writing
The Archaeology of Writing rated it
5.0 Gilead: A Novel
In a word, epic.
The Bookchemist
The Bookchemist rated it
Obviously the work of an incredibly crafted author, Gilead avoids any ambition to deliver an extremely quiet and delicate reflection on life, history and religion - all, ironically, quite ambitious topics to deal with.Video review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qx-NlAa5pp8
Other editions (24)
Books by Marilynne Robinson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?