logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
If I Fall, If I Die - Michael Christie
If I Fall, If I Die
by: (author)
3.31 65
Following his award-winning debut collection of stories, Michael Christie's heartfelt and wondrous first novel is The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time for our anxiety-prone age--and marks the emergence of a stunningly gifted young Canadian writer. For readers of Mark Haddon, Jonathan... show more
Following his award-winning debut collection of stories, Michael Christie's heartfelt and wondrous first novel is The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time for our anxiety-prone age--and marks the emergence of a stunningly gifted young Canadian writer. For readers of Mark Haddon, Jonathan Lethem, Jonathan Safran Foer, Heather O'Neill, Anthony De Sa, and Junot Diaz.      Will has never been Outside, at least not that he can remember. For most of his young life he has lived happily Inside with his mother, Diane, a fiercely loving yet wildly eccentric agoraphobe who drowns in panic at the thought of opening the front door. Then one day, Will ventures Outside clad in a protective helmet and braces himself for danger. What he finds instead will set him on an unexpected journey of discovery.      Will embraces the Outside and his newfound freedom with enthusiasm, and he eventually befriends Jonah, a quiet Native boy who introduces him to the most reckless and exhilarating activity he's ever seen: skateboarding. Even as Diane's fears intensify, Will finds his own fears fading and his body hardening with each new bruise, scrape, and fall. But life Outside quickly grows complicated. When a local boy goes missing, Will and Jonah embark on an extraordinary adventure that draws Will far from the confines of his mother's closed-off world and into the throes of early adulthood and the criminal underbelly of small town life. All the while Diane must grapple with her greatest fear: will she be brave enough to save her son?      Full of dazzling prose and irresistible characters, If I Fall, If I Die is a beautifully tender and unforgettable story about mothers and sons, love and friendship, and learning when to protect the ones you love and when to let them fall.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780771023651 (0771023650)
ASIN: 771023650
Pages no: 288
Edition language: English
Category:
Adventure
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Rod Raglin
Rod Raglin rated it
3.0 Contrived ending trips up If I Fall, If I Die
Will is an eleven year-old boy and the child of a single mother Diane. Diane suffers from agoraphobia and has kept herself and her son "Inside" their house in Thunder Bay for the better part of his young life. Because he knows nothing else except what his mother has told him he accepts that going ...
Jessica's Book Thoughts
Jessica's Book Thoughts rated it
3.0 If I Fall, If I Die
Description (Goodreads): Will has never been outside, at least not since he can remember. And he has certainly never gotten to know anyone other than his mother, a fiercely loving yet wildly eccentric agoraphobe who panics at the thought of opening the front door. Their world is rich and fun- lovi...
Irresponsible Reader
Irresponsible Reader rated it
4.0 A smart, amusing, sad and slightly weird Coming of Age tale
When he was a toddler, Will and his mother, Diane, moved into a house in rural Canada (somewhere north of Toronto, I think) and never left. I don't mean that didn't move to a different residence, I mean they didn't leave. Diane was a filmmaker -- some sort of arty, documentary/montage-type thing --...
Jenny's Book Bag
Jenny's Book Bag rated it
2.0 If I Fall, If I Die
I loved the storyline, but not the execution. I love novels whose main characters have a mental illness and the more screwed up they are, the better. I find those storylines fascinating. “If I Fall, If I Die” starts out strong, but halfway through, it got boring so I stopped at page 162. The novel i...
Figgy O'Connell
Figgy O'Connell rated it
2.0 If I Fall, If I Die
The boy stepped Outside, and he did not die. He was not riddled with arrows, his hair did not spring into flame, and his breath did not crush his lungs like spent grocery bags. His eyeballs did not sizzle in their sockets, and his heart’s pistons did not seize. No barbarian lopped his head into a bl...
Other editions (3)
Books by Michael Christie
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?