logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Lost for Words - Stephanie Butland
Lost for Words
by: (author)
4.44 45
This bookshop keeps many secrets . . . Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never show you. Into her refuge - the York book emporium where she... show more
This bookshop keeps many secrets . . .

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never show you.

Into her refuge - the York book emporium where she works - come a poet, a lover, a friend, and three mysterious deliveries, each of which stirs unsettling memories.

Everything is about to change for Loveday. Someone knows about her past and she can't hide any longer. She must decide who around her she can trust. Can she find the courage to right a heartbreaking wrong? And will she ever find the words to tell her own story?

It's time to turn the pages of her past . . .

Lost for Words is a compelling, irresistible and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and 84 Charing Cross Road.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9781785762598 (1785762591)
Publisher: Zaffre
Pages no: 368
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Words of a Bibliophile
Words of a Bibliophile rated it
4.0 Lost For Words by Stephanie Butland
The cover makes this seem like a light fluffy romance, but it's much more than that. While it does have romance and some humor, it also deals with pretty heavy personal issues. The heroine, Loveday, carries emotional scars from her childhood and sticks to herself most of the time, keeping busy with ...
Mike Finn - Audiobook Addict
Mike Finn - Audiobook Addict rated it
5.0 “Lost For Words” by Stephanie Butland
"Lost For Words" is my first "recommend to anyone who reads" novel of 2018. Set mostly in the Lost For Words bookshop in York, this novel follows Loveday Cardew as she decides whether and how to move beyond surviving in the refuge she has built for herself in the bookshop and start living a richer l...
Nat's Book Nook
Nat's Book Nook rated it
4.0 Lovely Read
I’ve always had a huge love of books set in bookshops, libraries or cosy little cafes and I was not disappointed with this one! The main character is well developed and fleshed out and so loveable and often relatable too. The love story was sweet and throughout the story my heart hoped everything wo...
fromfirstpagetolast
fromfirstpagetolast rated it
5.0 Simply beautiful
Loveday Cardew has worked at the Lost for Words bookshop in the heart of York since she was 15. Here she has redefined herself, escaping her past, closing herself off and letting only a select few in. But soon her world is turned upside down when she meets the owner of a lost book. Then mysterious d...
Books by Stephanie Butland
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?