logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Pachinko - Min Jin Lee
Pachinko
by: (author)
3.94 90
A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose... show more
A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is save
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781455563937 (1455563935)
ASIN: 1455563935
Publisher: Hachette
Pages no: 496
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Words of a Bibliophile
Words of a Bibliophile rated it
3.0 Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
I had heard before about the people called the zainichi (ethnic Koreans in Japan), but I'd never read any books about them. This historical novel brings the spotlight to the lives of these Koreans who live in Japan and their struggles with identity, discrimination, racism and a sense of belonging—or...
learn by going
learn by going rated it
4.5 Pachinko, by Min Jin Lee
It took me almost four months to read Pachinko. As I read, I began wondering about my slow pace. My fall semesters are busier, yes, but I still manage to finish most books in what's a timely manner for me. It certainly wasn't because I found the book hard to read in terms of comprehension or engagem...
Thewanderingjew
Thewanderingjew rated it
4.0 Four generations of a family come alive on the page.
Pachinko, Min Jin Lee, author; Allison Hiroto, narrator The novel begins in 1910, in Korea, and continues almost until the end of the century. Korea is part of the Japanese Empire and the difficult relationship between the Japanese and the Koreans throughout that time coupled with war and peace and ...
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents rated it
4.0 Pachinko
4.5 starsThis follows a family through a few generations. They are from Korea. They are poor and end up in Japan for more opportunities. The Japanese look down on them. I've never thought about the prejudices between different East Asian countries. Even Koreans born in Japan for a couple of gen...
An Un-Calibrated Centrifuge
An Un-Calibrated Centrifuge rated it
4.0 Pachinko
I've been waiting four years for this book and it didn't disappoint. I think I enjoyed Free Food for Millionaires more, but in Pachinko I liked every character... well, maybe I didn't like all of them, but I wanted to know their stories. At the end of Free Food for Millionaires I wasn't that into on...
Other editions (1)
Books by Min Jin Lee
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?