logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Pachinko - Min Jin Lee
Pachinko
by: (author)
4.00 55
A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose... show more
A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is save
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781455563937 (1455563935)
ASIN: 1455563935
Publisher: Hachette
Pages no: 496
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents rated it
4.0 Pachinko
4.5 starsThis follows a family through a few generations. They are from Korea. They are poor and end up in Japan for more opportunities. The Japanese look down on them. I've never thought about the prejudices between different East Asian countries. Even Koreans born in Japan for a couple of gen...
An Un-Calibrated Centrifuge
An Un-Calibrated Centrifuge rated it
4.0 Pachinko
I've been waiting four years for this book and it didn't disappoint. I think I enjoyed Free Food for Millionaires more, but in Pachinko I liked every character... well, maybe I didn't like all of them, but I wanted to know their stories. At the end of Free Food for Millionaires I wasn't that into on...
Maven Books
Maven Books rated it
2.5 Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
The book starts off so wonderfully, drawing you in and making you want to see more of the Kim family. Unfortunately, the lovely writing and intriguing storyline didn't last very long, and started to wane after about 200 pages. The writing style changed so much that it became a pain to read, and al...
Memories From Books on Booklikes
Memories From Books on Booklikes rated it
4.0 Pachinko
Pachinko by Min Jin Lee is a saga of four generations of one Korean family. The history underlying the story is that of Korean immigrants in Japan. I love the first half of the book for its focus on the individual characters. The second half incorporates too many characters and story lines. At the e...
The Lethal Librarian
The Lethal Librarian rated it
5.0 Pachinko
Pachinko by Min Jin LeeI loved this novel. I was a little daunted to find that it ran to almost 500 pages and I found myself so enraptured by this saga that I finished it in a day (I came out bleary eyed, but I did it)! I am not normally a fan of anything that has to do with relatively modern histo...
Books by Min Jin Lee
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?