logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Patricia Highsmith
Patricia Highsmith (1921-1995) was the author of more than twenty novels, including Strangers on a Train, The Price of Salt and The Talented Mr. Ripley, as well as numerous short stories. show more



Patricia Highsmith (1921-1995) was the author of more than twenty novels, including Strangers on a Train, The Price of Salt and The Talented Mr. Ripley, as well as numerous short stories.

show less
Patricia Highsmith's Books
Recently added on shelves
Patricia Highsmith's readers
Share this Author
Community Reviews
Carmilla Reads
Carmilla Reads rated it 5 months ago
In the tradition of Crime and Punishment, this book concentrates more on the psychological impact of guilt on an otherwise healthy mind than on the murders. Charles is a disturbing yet believable villain, while Guy makes an interesting anti-hero. Few of the other characters are developed beyond two ...
BrokenTune
BrokenTune rated it 9 months ago
Katzengeschichten (Cat Stories) is not an anthology that Highsmith herself created but one that her publisher, Diogenes, compiled posthumously. I'm not usually a fan of such compilations as they always seem like a "cash-grab" to me but I can also see how this compilation could be a perfect gift for ...
BrokenTune
BrokenTune rated it 1 year ago
‘Oh, the hell with the money,’ Ed said. He was thinking what a disgusting city New York really was. You had to rub elbows, you did rub elbows with creeps like this one every day of the week, every time you rode a bus or a subway. They looked like ordinary people but they were creeps. This is the p...
isanythingopen
isanythingopen rated it 2 years ago
Way better than A Game for the Living. The interaction with the police still comes across as odd and not quite right. Who lets a horde of neighbors into a crime scene to trample evidence, even back then? Nickie was a right piece of nasty work. And all the internal musings got tedious. You ...
Lillelara
Lillelara rated it 2 years ago
As much as I love Patricia Highsmith, this novel wasn´t good and I fail to see what this story was supposed to tell me. The murder mystery was boring, the characters felt oddly out of place and I wasn´t at all interested in the main characters discussions about religion and sin. The whole book is ...
see community reviews
Need help?