logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Strangers on a Train - Patricia Highsmith
Strangers on a Train
by: (author)
3.30 275
A major new reissue of the work of a classic noir novelist.With the acclaim for The Talented Mr. Ripley, more film projects in production, and two biographies forthcoming, expatriate legend Patricia Highsmith would be shocked to see that she has finally arrived in her homeland. Throughout her... show more
A major new reissue of the work of a classic noir novelist.With the acclaim for The Talented Mr. Ripley, more film projects in production, and two biographies forthcoming, expatriate legend Patricia Highsmith would be shocked to see that she has finally arrived in her homeland. Throughout her career, Highsmith brought a keen literary eye and a genius for plumbing the psychopathic mind to more than thirty works of fiction, unparalleled in their placid deviousness and sardonic humor. With deadpan accuracy, she delighted in creating true sociopaths in the guise of the everyday man or woman. Now, one of her finest works is again in print: Strangers on a Train, Highsmith's first novel and the source for Alfred Hitchcock's classic 1953 film. With this novel, Highsmith revels in eliciting the unsettling psychological forces that lurk beneath the surface of everyday contemporary life.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780393321982 (0393321983)
ASIN: 393321983
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Pages no: 281
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Carmilla Reads
Carmilla Reads rated it
4.0 The burden of guilt
In the tradition of Crime and Punishment, this book concentrates more on the psychological impact of guilt on an otherwise healthy mind than on the murders. Charles is a disturbing yet believable villain, while Guy makes an interesting anti-hero. Few of the other characters are developed beyond two ...
The better to see you, my dear
The better to see you, my dear rated it
4.0 Not what I expected, but I could not stop reading
I think I enjoyed this one exactly for the same reasons everyone disliked it: the characters were so messed up it was nerve-wreaking to read. I've likely commented many times before how I love those books that engage me enough for me to get emotional over the characters, even if it is rage enough ...
Obsidian Blue
Obsidian Blue rated it
2.0 Book Read for Halloween Bingo Head Start...Ehhh
So I have been meaning to read this book forever. I obviously know about "Strangers on a Train" the movie version directed by Hitchcock. However, I have never read the source material. It's definitely a gem of a good idea that just fails with how Highsmith portrays the characters. It doesn't help th...
Reading Slothfully
Reading Slothfully rated it
1.0 Strangers on a Train
I managed to slog through about 11% of this book. It's really not very interesting. Two dull young men meet on a train and eventually began to complain about their mutual problems. One has a spouse who sleeps around and is now pregnant with someone else's child, but not much interested in giving a d...
Moonlight Reader
Moonlight Reader rated it
3.5 It's no Ripley, but it's all right
I'm going to surmise that this is one of those rare occasions where the movie actually exceeds the book. Patricia Highsmith was amazing, of that there is no doubt. However, this book was extremely frustrating to read because there are so many terrible decisions being made by the main character, G...
Other editions (18)
Books by Patricia Highsmith
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?