logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Red Clocks: A Novel - Leni Zumas
Red Clocks: A Novel
by: (author)
2.33 30
An Amazon Best Book of the MonthAn Indie Next PickOne of Wall Street Journal's Twelve Books to Read This WinterAn Esquire most anticipated book of 2018An Elle Best Book of Winter A Popsugar most anticipated book of FallA Ploughshares most anticipated book of FallA Nylon Best Book of the MonthOne... show more
An Amazon Best Book of the MonthAn Indie Next PickOne of Wall Street Journal's Twelve Books to Read This WinterAn Esquire most anticipated book of 2018An Elle Best Book of Winter A Popsugar most anticipated book of FallA Ploughshares most anticipated book of FallA Nylon Best Book of the MonthOne of Publishers Weekly's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017Five women. One question. What is a woman for?In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780316434812 (0316434817)
ASIN: 0316434817
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Pages no: 368
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Obsidian Black Plague
Obsidian Black Plague rated it
1.0 Shaking Head--No
If you are going to try to be the successor to "The Handmaid's Tale" I want you to bring it. "Red Clocks" a euphemism for a woman's womb or vagina (I don't know guys, I refuse to go back and read this again) talks about a different United States where abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vi...
Aerin
Aerin rated it
3.5 Review: Red Clocks, by Leni Zumas
Red Clocks examines some of the ways women navigate the question of whether and how and with whom to have children - and the entitlement society feels to comment on, interfere with, and ultimately constrain these inherently private choices. Each of the book’s five protagonists are compelled to sacri...
debbiekrenzer
debbiekrenzer rated it
2.5 StarsI really liked the premise of this book when I read description. However, the reading of the book was so tedious and challenging that I had to give up on it at about 35% into it. There was not a story here, per se, IMO. It was filled with phrases just thrown in. No conversation or plots. Th...
Books by Leni Zumas
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?