logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Spindle's End - Robin McKinley
Spindle's End
by: (author)
3.62 380
“We will keep her safe.” All the creatures of the forest and field and riverbank knew the infant was special. She was the princess, spirited away from the evil fairy Pernicia on her name-day. But the curse was cast: Rosie was fated to prick her finger on the spindle of a spinning wheel and fall... show more
“We will keep her safe.” All the creatures of the forest and field and riverbank knew the infant was special. She was the princess, spirited away from the evil fairy Pernicia on her name-day. But the curse was cast: Rosie was fated to prick her finger on the spindle of a spinning wheel and fall into a poisoned sleep—a slumber from which no one would be able to rouse her… In the tradition of Beauty and Rose Daughter, Robin McKinley “lends a fresh perspective to a classic fairy tale, developing the story of ‘Sleeping Beauty’ into a richly imagined, vividly depicted novel.” (School Library Journal
show less
Format: mass market paperback
ISBN: 9780441008650 (0441008658)
ASIN: 441008658
Publisher: Ace
Pages no: 368
Edition language: English
Series: Folktales (#3)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Booknut 101's Bookworm Haven
Booknut 101's Bookworm Haven rated it
4.0
Remember that great, big, volume of fairytales that lies forlornly at the top of your bookshelf, gathering dust? Well it’s time to dust off the cobwebs, as Robin McKinley’s novel Spindle’s End re-nurtures your love for the classics.Spindle’s End is a beautifully written re-telling of Sleeping Beauty...
The Cheap Reader
The Cheap Reader rated it
3.0 Spindle's End
I’m not too familiar with the Sleeping Beauty fairy tale. I saw the Disney movie once as a kid and I’m familiar with the general idea of the story. Since I don’t know the fairy tale as well as other fairy tales I can’t say how good of a retelling this book is.I liked the writing. Everything had love...
e_bookpushers
e_bookpushers rated it
Review originally posted at: http://thebookpushers.com/2012/04/09/fantasy-celebration-review-spindles-end-by-robin-mckinley/Publisher: Ace BooksPublish Date: 2000How I got this book: PurchasedAll the creatures of forest, field and riverbank knew the baby was special. She was the princess Briar-Rose,...
Coffee, Ginger & White
Coffee, Ginger & White rated it
1.0
The worst book I've ever read. I'd stay away from it if I were you.
debzbookshelf
debzbookshelf rated it
5.0 Spindle's End
After the birth of the long awaited princess, Katriona, the niece of a fairy, is the commoner from the Gig selected to go to the name-day celebration. Little does she know that this will change her life, and the whole world, forever.The poor little princess is cursed by the evil Pernicia that she wi...
Other editions (19)
Books by Robin McKinley
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?