logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Symptoms of Being Human - Jeff Garvin
Symptoms of Being Human
by: (author)
4.33 15
A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers. Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between... show more
A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.
show less
Format: Kindle Edition
ISBN: 9780062382887
ASIN: B00XHRR3L2
Publisher: Balzer & Bray
Pages no: 357
Edition language: English
Category:
Young Adult, Glbt
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
My Never Ending List
My Never Ending List rated it
4.0 Symptoms of Being Human
I have mixed feeling about this novel. I liked that Riley gave others a way to express themselves by setting up a blog so that they could write in and talk about their own feeling and concerns but Riley never took ownership of this blog. I liked that Riley went to therapy where finally Riley could b...
Other editions (2)
Books by Jeff Garvin
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?