logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Kat-Falls
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2015-07-13 01:59
Dark Life
[ Dark Life Falls, Kat ( Author ) ] { Paperback } 2011 - Kat Falls

I read this book 3 years ago but I can still remember the plot; usually, if you're a book devourer, your memory of a book becomes spotty. But that's not the case with this book! I think it's because of the overwhelming excitement and genuine love that I felt while reading this book. I loved Ty; he couldn't have been as perfect. I felt immense sadness when I finished this book. And I literally screamed when I realized there was a sequel; I'm aching to be back in the company of Ty and Gemma. 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-05-26 02:58
Here, Kitty, Kitty, Kitty
Serafina and the Black Cloak - Robert Beatty
The Crowfield Curse - Pat Walsh
[ Dark Life Falls, Kat ( Author ) ] { Paperback } 2011 - Kat Falls

Serafina is an odd girl, right down to her bones. She’s missing a toe on each foot, and she prowls the night, killing rats in her unofficial capacity as the Biltmore Estate Chief Rat Catcher. She skitters up drapes and tapestries, and she longs to have a true friend. One night, as she prowls around, she happens upon a man in a black cloak, who is also hunting—for children. Although Serafina tries to fight the man in the black cloak, he grabs up Clara Schuman, a guest of the Vanderbilts’, and afterwards, nothing is left of her. Serafina’s hard-working father doesn’t believe her story, but Braedan, the young nephew of the Vanderbilts, does. Together they try to find out who is under that creepy black cloak before it’s too late.

 

This middle-grade horror story will appeal to kids who have a special affinity to animals. The character of Serafina is particularly interesting and strong-willed, and Braedan offers a secondary male character with eccentricities of his own. Readers who enjoyed Dark Life and Rip Tide or The Crowfield Curse series may particularly enjoy this novel.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-08-27 15:57
La colonia Sommersa
La colonia sommersa - Kat Falls

La colonia sommersa è un racconto ambientato in un futuro post-apocalittico dove il mondo è per la maggior parte ricoperto d'acqua. Per ovviare al problema del sovraffollamento sono state create delle colonie nelle profondità marine. Poco apprezzate dalla gente di sopra: i "Superni", che non vedono di buon occhio i coloni, chiamati la Stirpe Oscura, con la convinzione che vivere in fondo agli oceani, gli sconquassi il cervello. 
Mentre al contrario i coloni sono sani come pesci, nel senso stretto della parola, hanno un sistema immunitario decisamente più sviluppato ed alcuni di loro hanno qualità speciali: chiamate Doni Oscuri, che tengono ben nascoste per il timore di finire sotto ai ferri come cavie da laboratorio. 
Anche Ty ha un dono Oscuro: può comunicare con i cetacei, permettendoli di capire quando vi è un pericolo nei dintorni. A parte questo Ty è un ragazzo come tanti, curioso e testardo. Ty farà di tutto per aiutare Gemma, la "Superna" alla ricerca di suo fratello Richard; anche accompagnarla nelle zone recluse ai minorenni, ritrovandosi faccia a faccia con Fantasma, il bandito che sta facendo dilagare la paura nella colonia sommersa, scoprendo la sua vera identità.
Un racconto carino, ma che non è riuscito a catturarmi completamente.

Non vi è la divisione tra il bene e il male, anzi, l'autrice ha voluto raccontare la storia dei "cattivi" in modo tale che si avesse pietà di loro, malgrado avessero fatto delle cose orribili.
Una storia di razzismo a modo suo, che insegna che l'amicizia tra persone di "mondi" diversi è possibile e che la libertà è l'unica cosa che conta. 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2014-08-01 03:59
New Book Arrivals: An Odd Assortment
Dark Life: Book 1 - Kat Falls
Say What You Will - Cammie McGovern
Rusalka - C.J. Cherryh

Three new books waiting to be acknowledged and then put away.

 

Dark Life by Kat Falls - I saw a news segment about this book when it was first published and immediately became interested, mostly because I am fascinated by the idea of living beneath the ocean. I even went to an underwater hotel for my honeymoon. Truth be told, I wanted to read this book while I was under water, but I was too nervous to submerge a library book, and it hasn't become available via Paperbackswap until now.

 

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern - I got this as an ARC from my dear bookseller friend (every time that group of friends gets together, I come home with more books!) She recommended it, and a review in School Library Journal also aroused my interest.

 

Rusalka by C.J. Cherryh - This is one of the July/August group reads for Into the Forest, a Goodreads group I belong to for lovers of myths and fairy tales. I snatched it up via Bookmooch.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
url 2014-06-11 02:12
{Top Ten Tuesday} Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year
A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Five - George R.R. Martin
The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line - Jennifer Graham,Rob Thomas
"Author:Laini Taylor"-is the title for"Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy)"-2014 - Laini Taylor
Cress - Marissa Meyer
Shadows - Paula Weston
Wise Young Fool - Sean Beaudoin
The Here and Now - Ann Brashares
The Fever - Megan Abbott
Steal the Light - Lexi Blake
Inhuman by Falls, Kat (2013) Hardcover - Kat Falls

top10-punkfarie

Source: ficcentral.com/central-picks/memes/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-ive-read-so-far-this-year
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?