logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Pre-Reads
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-16 08:58
City Of Miracles
City of Miracles - Robert Jackson Bennett

With City of Miracles one, if not the best, fantasy series of the last couple of years comes to an end. I cannot start to express just how much I loved reading them. The world is so complex, as are the characters, and these series is so emancipated that I really couldn't tell if they male of female based on their position (but without making a show of it, which means it felt all the more real). Before I just keep rambling about the series, let me tell you one thing: it comes highly recommended! (But start with City of Stairs, the first one)

City of Miracles follows Sigrud, some fifteen years after the previous books, as he learns of Shara's dead. I was shocked at this at first, since she was the main character from the first book, but it really works. As Sigurd tries to protect her daughter, he learns about something that is bigger than them all.

I enjoyed it so much I don't know how to put it best into words. I recommend taking some proper time to really immerse yourself into the world because it will be worth it. It is not often that I'm so saddened by a book, but the ending was right in the feels. I also felt some pain because it meant this adventure is over. Did Robert Jackson Bennett write other books besides The Divine Cities? If so, I must get them NOW.

Thanks to Blogging for Books and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-11 08:00
Machinations
Machinations - Hayley Stone

Machinations follows Rhonda, recently returned from the dead (she's a clone of her previous self) because her job, as a hallmark of the rebellion against the machines isn't over.

In this robot-apocalypse, where the bots have decided to fight 'the war to end all wars' by exterminating people, what drew me most was the struggles Rhonda had with coming to terms with one) dying and second) coming back.

It made a nice and interesting read and I certainly plan to read the sequel as well.

Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-09 08:00
Pixar Manga: Finding Nemo
Disney Pixar Finding Nemo Manga--Special Collector's Edition (Pixar Manga Collection) - Ryuichi Hoshino

The Finding Nemo Manga, as others in the PopTokyo series, follows the story of the movie quite strict, so it is more of a re-watch than an addition to the movie. For me, it was a nice way to brush up Finding Nemo in time for Finding Dory, the sequel.

At the start there is some extra information on the different characters, but otherwise, expect the movie is manga-form, the art style also resembles that of the movie.

Nice for fans of Finding Nemo and Pixar!

Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-07 13:00
Yea Though I Walk
Yea Though I Walk - J. P. Sloan

I had previously read some books from JP Sloan (The Curse Merchant) but they were quite different from Yea Though I Walk, which I can only describe as a gritty Paranormal Western Horror. Talk about blending some genres together.

I'm normally not really someone for the Western genre, but the grittiness of it really added to the story. Add to that the Wendigo and vampires and it made a surprisingly entertaining read. I think the main character, Odell, could have been fleshed out a bit more (no pun intended) but otherwise a really nice read.

Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-04 08:00
Hell's Teeth
Hell's Teeth - James Fahy

Dr. Harkness is thrown into a lot of mess in the dystopian world of New Oxford as her supervisor goes missing and the only thing that is left of her is, surprisingly, her teeth. Harkness turns out to be a great main character as she guides us through her world with a lot of wit, which made this book so nice to read.

The world is filled with Genetic Others, Vampires and the like, which has of course been done a lot recently in the genre, but it still somehow feels fresh in Hell's Teeth. I should really pick up the second book in the series soon!

Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?